Student Participants

A total of 112 undergraduate students - more than half of them women - from 76 different universities across the United States participated in the program between 2006 and 2022. NSF provided funding for 8 students per year between 2006 and 2008 and 10 students per year between 2010 and 2012, between 2014 and 2016 and between 2020 and 2022. In some years, additional funding was provided by Oakland University to allow more students to take part in the program. Due to the Covid pandemic, the program did not run in 2020 and was run virtually with 12 undergraduate researchers in summer 2021. Eight students are taking part in the program in summer 2022

Each summer, student participants worked in teams of 2-3 on automotive and energy research projects under the guidance of faculty, graduate students and often industry mentors, and also took part in other activities such as industrial research lab and facilities tours, meetings with working engineers, conferences and seminars.

2022 Student Participants and Projects:

Optimizing algae cultivation for carbon capture and biodiesel production

Advisors: Prof. Sarah Beetham and Prof. Dan DelVescovo

  • Lauren Merrill, Belmont University, TN

  • Noah Lemmons, Oakland University, MI

Understanding the nucleation of sulfur at electrode-electrolyte interface for lithium-sulfur batteries

Advisor: Prof. Ankun Yang

  • Jason Corona, San Jose State University, CA

  • Arthur Raber, Georgia College and State University, GA

Energy capture from automotive engine vibrations

Advisor: Prof. Chris Cooley

  • Joshua Kobus, Oakland University, MI

  • Daniel Lantz, LeTourneau University, TX

Assessment tools for perceived sound quality enhancements

Advisors: Prof. Ryan Monroe and Chris Shaw (Stellantis)

  • Emily Carr, SUNY Fredonia, NY

  • Elaysa Deaver, Lipscomb University, TN

2021 Student Participants and Projects (Virtual REU):

Simulating Powertrain Performance and Optimization under Real-World Driving Conditions

Advisor: Prof. Dan DelVescovo

3-D CFD Modeling of Engine Cylinder Head Flow during Steady-State Flow bench Testing

Advisors: Prof. Dan DelVescovo and Prof. Laila Guessous

Deep-Space Food Challenge

Advisor: Prof. Jonathan Maisonneuve

Crankshaft-Mounted Pendulums

Advisors: Prof. Ryan Monroe and Dr. Brendan Vidmar (Ford Motor Company)

Evaluation of the Optical Performance of Sodium Nanoparticles for Automotive Sensor and Circuit Applications

Advisor: Prof. Ankun Yang

Design, Analysis and Control of Electric-Hydraulic Hybrid Vehicles

Advisor: Prof. Yongsoon Yoon

2016 Student Participants:

2015 Student Participants:

2014 Student Participants:

2012 Student Participants:

2011 Student Participants:

2010 Student Participants:

2008 Student Participants:

2007 Student Participants:

2006 Student Participants: