Welcome to @nbjhreads

What's New?

Meet the author!

Please complete this form to be considered for the opportunity to have lunch with author during his NBJH visit on Friday!

The Book of the Week (February 7th)

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi

Tareq, a Syrian teenager, changes his daily routine as airstrikes on his city increase. When his home is hit by a bomb, Tareq is suddenly a refugee, traveling with his father and one surviving sister, Susan, to another Syrian town, then out of Syria to Turkey. When life in Turkey offers little hope, Tareq's father sends him and Susan to make the dangerous trip to Greece by water.

BOTWJan24.mp4

The Book of the Week (January 24th)

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden

Ollie lives with her big-hearted father following the tragic death of her mother, and escapes from her grief through reading. Her circumstances take a supernatural turn when she encounters a frightening woman attempting to throw a book into the river. When Ollie, drawn to the book, takes it, the woman warns her to “avoid large places at night... stick to small spaces.” Ollie has no idea that reading this mysterious book may lead to a deal with the literal devil.

BOTWJan24.mp4

The Book of the Week (January 17th)

Facing Frederick by Tonya Bolden

Frederick Douglass is one of the most iconic figures in American history, and this biography will give you a chance to experience the incredible things he accomplished in his lifetime. Douglass was a self-emancipated slave who went on to become a newspaper owner, a public speaker, a women’s rights advocate, and a diplomat.

BOTWJan17.mp4

The Book of the Week (January 10th)

The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson

Candice Miller is spending the summer in the old South Carolina house that once belonged to her grandmother. It’s one of the most boring of her life until she finds a letter in the attic. The letter holds clues about a secret injustice once committed against a mysterious woman named Siobhan Washington. Candice teams up with friend and fellow bookworm, Brandon, to solve the case.

BOTWJan10.mp4

The Book of the Week (December 20th)

Knockout by K.A. Holt

Levi was born premature, and with serious health issues. People perceive him has weak because he's small and he's in and out of the hospital, but Levi is a fighter, and that becomes clear when he starts to box. He has a natural talent for the sport, but money, health, and family might end up preventing him from pursuing his athletic goals. For fans of The Crossover and House Arrest.

BOTWDEC20.mp4

The Book of the Week (December 13th)

Grenade by Alan Gratz

Told in alternating perspectives. One of two narrators is a young Okinawa boy who is charged with killing an American soldier by the retreating Japanese army in WWII. The other is the young American solider who may find himself on the other end of the boy's grenade. For fans of Refugee and Code Talkers.

1080p.mov

The Book of the Week (December 6th)

Glimmer of Hope by the founders of march for our lives

Through the voices of students from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, following the events of 02/14/2018, a cry for change echoed across the country. Each chapter is told from the perspective of one of the student survivors as they fought to turn their trauma into a movement. The text includes posts from social media, powerful photographs, and speeches written and delivered by the student founders of the movement.


1080p-1.mov

The Book of the Week (November 29th)

illegal by eoin colfer

A graphic novel about the flight of Ebo, a Ghanaian refugee child, to Europe to find the siblings who fled before him. His journey takes him across the Sahara and through the city of Tripoli, where he struggles to raise money for passage across the Mediterranean. Ebo and his fellow refugees must escape the notice of the authorities who are constantly looking for refugees.


BOTWNov29.mp4

The Book of the Week (November 8th)

Dry by Neal and Jarrod shusterman

When the water in southern California runs out, teen Alyssa's parents set out to secure drinking water for their family at a temporary relief point--but when they don't come back Alyssa must set out into a increasingly dangerous, rapidly deteriorating society with her younger brother, Garret, to find them.

BOTW10.mp4

The Book of the Week (November 1st)

A Winter's Promise by Christelle Dabos

Having grown up in space after civilization on earth ends, Ophelia is forced into an unexpected engagement to an important official from another society. This isn't typical in her clan, so she must figure out what both groups have to gain by proposing the undesired marriage.

BOTWNov1.mp4

The Book of the Week (October 24th)

Sachiko by Caren Stelson

Sachiko Yasui was only six years old when she survived the atomic bombing of Nagasaki, Japan. This account of her experience is deeply personal, and offers a rare glimpse into one of the most significant moments of World War II.

BOTW9.mov

The Book of the Week (October 18th)

Strange Star by Emma Carroll

Check out this creepy mystery book to get into the Halloween Spirit, recommended for grades six through eight!

1080p.mov

NBJH Book Awards 2019-20

Fill out this quick Google form to let us know which titles you think are winners!

NBJH Book Award Discussions

Welcome Back, NBJH Students!

Stop By to Say Hi!

Stop by the LRC to meet to Ms. Greene, NBJH's new librarian! Say hi to Mrs. Niswonger and tell us all about your summer reads!

Books are available for check-out now, so get your school year off to a good start with a great book!

Digital Citizenship

Digital Citizenship

Check out these helpful resources, presentations, and games to learn how to be a thoughtful, respectful digital citizen.


Click here for more...

LRC Info

Library Hours

Monday-Friday: 7:45 - 3:45pm

The library is open to students throughout the day with permission from a teacher or Ms. Greene


Checkout Rules

6th grade: 6 items for 3 weeks

7th grade: 7 items for 3 weeks

8th grade: 8 items for 3 weeks

Otherworld by jason segel and kirsten miller

After a disastrous accident leaves Simon's friend Kat unresponsive in a hospital bed, the Company behind the wildly popular virtual Otherworld offers to plug Kat into their virtual reality using experimental, state-of-the-art technology. When Simon discovers that the Company's plans are less than virtuous he smuggles himself into the Otherworld in search of his friend.


BOTWNov15.mp4