Advanced Topics
One of the most fun and interesting aspects of the Magic game is the tremendous number of unique cards you can play with, which in turn provide an incredibly wide range of things that could happen in any given game. This section is a reference for when you need to know more details about the rules of Magic.
Targeting
Some spells and abilities use the word "target" to describe something that the spell or ability will affect. You must choose all targets for a spell when you cast it, and for an ability when it triggers or when you activate it. If you can’t meet the targeting requirements, you can’t cast the spell or use the ability. For example, if a spell has the text "Destroy target creature," but there are no creatures on the battlefield, you can’t cast that spell because it has no valid targets.
If a spell "deals damage to any target," you can choose any creature or player (or planeswalker, if a player has one) as a target for that spell.
Once you choose targets, you can’t change your mind later. When the spell or ability resolves, it checks the targets to make sure they’re still legal (that is, they’re still there and they still match the requirements of the spell or ability). If a target isn’t legal, the spell or ability can’t affect it. If none of the targets are legal, the spell or ability does nothing at all.
The Stack
The stack is a game zone shared by all players (like the battlefield) where spells and abilities wait to resolve. Resolving a spell or ability simply means that its effect happens.
Using the Stack
When you cast a spell or activate an ability, it doesn’t resolve right away—it goes on the stack. Spells and abilities remain on the stack until both players choose not to cast any new spells or activate any new abilities. Triggered abilities also go on the stack until they resolve.
When you have finished putting spells and abilities on the stack, priority then passes to the next player in turn order, who may want to use a spell or ability of their own in response. Subsequent players (including you) can then respond to that player’s response, and so on—the result is a "stack" waiting to resolve. Spells and abilities remain on the stack until all players choose not to cast any new spells or activate any new abilities.
A general rule is that spells and abilities on the stack resolve one by one, beginning with the last one put on the stack.
Responding to Spells and Abilities
When you cast a spell or activate an ability, it doesn’t resolve right away—it goes on the stack. Spells and abilities remain on the stack until both players choose not to cast any new spells or activate any new abilities. Triggered abilities also go on the stack until they resolve.
Each player has an opportunity to cast an instant spell (or activate an activated ability) in response to any spell or ability that goes on the stack. If a player does decide to respond, their spell or ability goes on the stack on top of what was already waiting there. When all players pass—that is, decline to do anything more—the top spell or ability on the stack will resolve.
After a spell or ability resolves, both players again get the chance to respond. If no one does, the next thing waiting on the stack will resolve. If the stack is empty, the current step of the turn will end, and the game will proceed to the next step.
Example of Spells on the Stack
Your opponent casts Shock targeting your Eager Construct, a 2/2 creature. Shock goes on the stack. You respond to Shock by casting Titanic Growth. Titanic Growth goes on the stack on top of Shock. You and your opponent both decline to do anything else.
Titanic Growth resolves, making Eager Construct a 6/6 until the end of the turn. Then Shock resolves and deals 2 damage to the pumped-up Eager Construct, which is not enough to destroy it.
What would happen if Titanic Growth were cast first?
The Shock would go on the stack on top of Titanic Growth, which means it would resolve first this time. Shock would still deal 2 damage to Eager Construct, but this time that damage is being dealt before Titanic Growth can resolve and take effect—so 2 damage is enough to destroy Eager Construct!
Abilities
As you start to accumulate permanents on the battlefield, the game will change. That’s because many permanents have text on them that affects the game. This text tells you a permanent’s abilities. There are three different kinds of abilities a permanent can have: static abilities, triggered abilities, and activated abilities.
Static Abilities
A static ability is text that is always true while that card is on the battlefield. For example, Imposing Sovereign is a creature with the ability “Creatures your opponents control enter the battlefield tapped.” You don’t activate a static ability. It just does what it says.
Triggered Abilities
A triggered ability is text that happens when a specific event occurs in the game. For example, Messenger Drake is a creature with the ability “When Messenger Drake dies, draw a card.”
Each triggered ability starts with the word “when,” “whenever,” or “at.” You don’t activate a triggered ability. It automatically triggers whenever the first part of the ability happens. The ability goes on the stack just like a spell, and resolves just like a spell. If the ability triggers but then the permanent the ability came from leaves the battlefield, the ability will still resolve.
You can’t choose to delay or ignore a triggered ability. However, if the ability targets something or someone but you can’t choose a legal target for it, the ability won’t do anything.
Activated Abilities
An activated ability is an ability that you can activate whenever you want, as long as you can pay the cost. For example, Blood Bairn is a creature with the ability “Sacrifice another creature: Blood Bairn gets +2/+2 until end of turn.”
Each activated ability has a cost, then a colon (“:”), then an effect. Activating one works exactly like casting an instant spell, except there’s no card to put on the stack. The ability goes on the stack just like a spell, and resolves just like a spell. If you activate an ability but then the permanent the ability came from leaves the battlefield, the ability will still resolve.
Some activated abilities contain the oT symbol in their costs. This means that you must tap the
permanent to activate the ability. You can’t activate the ability if the permanent is already tapped.
Continuous Effects and Layers
Layers is probably one of the most complex things you can learn in MTG, its in place to understand how multiple of the same type of effect can affect something.
Continuous effects refer to effects which go on passive for either a fixed or indefininte length of time. Continuous effects aren't abilities of any sort, but they can be created by spells or abilities of all types. For example, Giant Growth creates a continuous effect which modifies a creatures power and toughness.
Problems can sometimes arise when more than one continuous effect is modifying the same object, especially if applying the effects in a different order would create a different result.
For Example:
A player casts Giant Growth on an activated Golgari Keyrune, then activates Golgari Keyrune's ability a second time.
Depending on what order you applied these effects, Golgari Keyrune's power and toughness could be interpreted as either 2/2 or 5/5.
The Layer System tells the game what order to apply continuous effects to resolve ambiguous situations.
Different kinds of continuous effects are sorted into different layers.
Then, all of the layers are applied in ascending order.
This way, there's only one possible result in any situation.
Every continuous effect fits into a specific layer. Layer 1 gets applied before Layer 2, and so on.
Layer 7 is divided into differen sub-layers. Sub-Layer A gets applied before Sub-Layer B, and so on.
Lets walk through the previous example regarding Giant Growth and Golgar Keyrune:
First, in Layer 4, Golgaro Keyrune becomes an Insect artifact creature. (This happens twice because Golgari Keyrune's ability was activated twice.)
Second, in Layer 5, Golgari Keyrune becomes black and green. (This also happens twice.)
Then, in Sub-layer 7b, Golgari Keyrune becomes 2/2 (This also happens twice.)
Finally, in Sublayer 7c, Golgari Keyrune gets +3/+3 from Giant Growth.
In the end, Golgari Keyrune will be a 5/5 black and green Insect artifact creature.
This system will help for effect that apply on different layers, but if two conflicting effects apply on the same Layer, then the timestamp rule would apply. This simply means that one that was played last will apply its effect.
Magic the Gathering Comprehensive Rules