English Language Learners

English Language Learners

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education adopted the World-class Instructional Design and Assessment English Language Development (WIDA ELD) standards in June 2012 as part of the Rethinking Equity and Teaching for English Language Learners (RETELL) initiative. The WIDA standards are in effect beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, replacing the ELPBO as the state’s language proficiency standards.

The WIDA English Language Development Standards

WIDA is a multi-state consortium focused on academic language development and academic achievement for linguistically diverse students through high quality standards, assessments, research, and professional development for educators. The WIDA ELD standards promote academic language proficiency in four content areas – language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies – and thus facilitate students’ success in school. The WIDA ELD standards are not a scope and sequence of language skills like the ELPBO. However, WIDA provides a host of tools and resources educators can use to differentiate instruction for ELLs and promote their academic language development. For an overview of the WIDA ELD Standards, please visit http://wida.us/standards/eld.aspx.

Teacher and Parent Resources:

WIDA: World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment

English Language Development Standards

Resources for Parents and Teachers of ELL Students

ACCESS Parent-Report PPT.pdf