History of the Dover Band Program

The Dover Band Program is among the oldest in the state of Ohio, tracing its roots all the way back to 1917. One of the original show bands of Ohio (along with Massillon and Cuyahoga Falls), the marching band has been consistently impressive throughout the past century.

The high school program typically has about 120 members, which allows for two concert bands in the winter and spring. In addition to this, there are also smaller ensembles that rehearse, such as the Steel Band and the Jazz Band. Several students also participate in Dover's annual spring musical, and the Ohio Music Education Association's (OMEA) Solo and Ensemble Adjudicated Event.

Directors of the Dover Band Program:

Lawrence H. Alexander, 1916-1917, 1919-1950 (also composed Dover's Alma Mater and Crimson Tornado)

A.E. Vorhees, 1951-1953

Gordon Ritter, 1951-1956

George Toot, 1956-1958

Lee C. McMillen, 1958-1960

George Kyer, 1960-1961

Armand Houk, 1961-1966

Frederick Delphia, 1966-1978

Robert Lyon, 1978-1979

Douglas Goudy, 1979-1986

Steven Stroup, 1986-2010

Micah Carrick, 2010-2013

Chris Redd, 2013-Current