Grayslake North National Honor Society

Welcome back to school NHS!

  • Keep an eye on Service Events over the next few weeks for fall volunteer opportunities!

  • If you haven't already, submit your Summer Hours for credit before September 17th.

Join our remind! Text @g4eb23 to 81010

Follow GNHS NHS on Twitter @gnhs_nhs

NHS Students! Hours are due April 14th, 2023 at 11:59pm! First year members are required to have at least 60 hours (40 NHS and 20 non-NHS), and second year members are required to have 40 hours (30 NHS and 10 non-NHS). You MUST meet this requirement!

Any 2022 Summer hours are due by September 16 at 11:59 PM.


We strive to uphold the four pillars: character, scholarship, leadership, and service.

The National Honor Society (NHS) was established in 1921 to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS members must demonstrate excellence in Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character, the four pillars of the NHS. Four main purposes guide NHS chapters: “To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools” (NHS Constitution). Members of the Grayslake North High School Chapter of the NHS foster these values with the help of numerous service opportunities throughout the year.

NHS means more than just attending meetings on a monthly basis. Being a member of NHS means constantly being involved both within your community, and within your school. At Grayslake North, NHS participates in nearly every major event. From Cookies with Santa to Prom, we're always willing to lend a helping hand.