Brandon Wellness Resources

WELCOME

This website has resources for children and families to access whenever needed during this unique time. This includes counseling resources, wellness activities, and supports for learning virtually. Feel free to contact any of the district staff listed below.

Resources in Response to tragedy

Please be aware that if you or any Brandon student needs help through this time our mental health professionals are available. Please share this information with those who may need the support of these professionals.


Attached are resources to support you while you work through this tragedy. These resources can help you to know how to talk with your child/student regarding loss and violence.

District Contacts

Contact Information for our mental health support team:

Ryan Belluomo, BHS Counselor rbelluomo@brandon.k12.mi.us

Trisha Nelson, BHS Counselor tnelson@brandon.k12.mi.us

Wesley Johnson, BHS Counselor wjohnson@brandon.k12.mi.us

Ellen Hagerman, BHS Social Worker ehagerman@brandon.k12.mi.us

Caitlin Tallon, School Psychologist ctallon@brandon.k12.mi.us

Amanda Miller, School Psychologist amiller@brandon.k12.mi.us

Jennifer Hickey, BMS Counselor jhickey@brandon.k12.mi.us

Jeannine Marthen, BMS Counselor jmarthen@brandon.k12.mi.us

Stephanie Wozniak, BMS Social Worker swozniak@brandon.k12.mi.us

Tiffany Roehrig, HSE Counselor troehrig@brandon.k12.mi.us

Rachel DiBella, HSE Social Worker rdibella@brandon.k12.mi.us

Samantha Burns, OE Counselor sburns@brandon.k12.mi.us

Heather Blenkle, OE Social Worker hblenke@brandon.k12.mi.us

Crisis Hotlines and Information

Common Ground Hotline

1-800-231-1127


New Michigan Mental Health Hotline

1-888-733-7753


Crisis Text Line

Text HOME to 741741


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

1-800-273-8255


Blackhawk Hotline

248-660-0138 (report bullying and school concerns)

Local Community Resources

Common Ground:

248-456-0909 or 800-231-1127

https://commongroundhelps.org

Crisis Counseling, Suicide Prevention, Legal Help, Community Resources, Mental health screening and assessment, community resources/referrals, eligibility determination, advocacy and support


Easter Seals:

248-451-2900 or 1-866-99-CHILD

www.essmichigan.org

Administration office phone is listed (call for referral assistance)

Crisis intervention, family centered planning, Spanish/Russian counseling, parent education, respite care, psychological and neuropsychological testing, psychiatric evaluation



Wellness resources designed for elementary aged children

Wellness resources designed for older children and teens

Resources for visuals, social stories, and tips on talking to children about COVID-19

See page for additional resources for adults, including financial resources, stress management, and self-care strategies.

Suicide Prevention

A recent survey found that 64% of teens believe "the experience of COVID-19 will have a lasting impact on their generation's mental health." In Michigan, suicide is the 2nd leading cause of death for ages 10-34 and the 4th leading cause of death for ages 35-54. Help is available 24-7. If you or someone you know may be thinking of suicide, going through a hard time, or just need to talk, call or text the Common Ground Resource and Crisis Helpline at 1-800-231-1127 or chat online at www.commongroundhelps.org.

More information about suicide prevention can be found on the Task Force's website at oakgov.com/suicideprevention. For up to date public health information, follow @publichealth OC on Facebook and Twitter or contact Nurse on Call at 800-848-5533 or noc@oakgov.com Nurse on Call is available 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday and 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Saturdays.

Make Your Home Suicide Safe

Make your home suicide safe.pdf

Suicide Warning Signs

Suicide Warning Signs.pdf

Suicide Prevention Parent Toolkit

Toolkit for parents.pdf

Suicide Prevention School Toolkit

Toolkit for schools.pdf