Student Services

The Student Services Department works with students, parents, and teachers to address the academic, college and career, social and emotional needs of our students. Below is a list of Student Services staff members and their general responsibilities:

Fax-708-532-4332

Assistant Principal for Student Services

Steve Granat (x-8206) sgranat@bhsd228.com

  • Supervise the Student Services Department

Deans

Wendy Podbielniak (x-8212) wpodbielniak@bhsd228.com

Brian Gibbons (x-8213) bgibbons@bhsd228.com

Attendance Secretary Cathy Hendrickson (x-8209) chendrickson@bhsd228.com

Discipline Secretary Sewillar (Candy) Williams (x-8208) sywilliams@bhsd228.com

  • Monitor student attendance
  • Address disciplinary situations
  • Promote an orderly, safe, and secure learning environment

Counselors

Kelly D'Ercole (A-Fe) (x-8214) kdercole@bhsd228.com

Cheri Walsh (Fi-Le) (x-8217) cwalsh@bhsd228.com

Anitrese Wilks (Li-Ro) (x-8216) awilks@bhsd228.com

Dori Neven (Ru-Z) (x-8215) dneven@bhsd228.com

Shannon Gormley (x-8226) sgormley@bhsd228.com

Registrar Patti Cusack (x-8251) pcusack@bhsd228.com

Student Services Secretary Tracy Griffin (x-8207) tgriffin@bhsd228.com

  • Provide guidance on academics, college & career, social/emotional and personal issues
  • Create and maintain student schedules
  • Communicate with parents on student progress

Student Services Project Manager

Kim Bartos (x-5464) kbartos@bhsd228.com

  • Coordinate special projects for the Student Services Department
  • Manage the data collection for Student Services programs
  • Arrange for career speakers/college visits

Psychologist

Sheri Griffin (x-8233) sgriffin@bhsd228.com

  • Coordinate programming for special education students
  • Screen and assess possible candidates for special education
  • Obtain and maintain special education records

Special Education Secretary Janet McGrath (x-8234) jmcgrath@bhsd228.com

Nurse

Colleen Konecki (x-8211) ckonecki@bhsd228.com

  • Respond to student illnesses and injuries
  • Administer student in-school medications
  • Review student immunization records

Service Facilitator

Heather Kijewski (x-5491) hkijewski@bhsd228.com

  • Maintain student accommodation information
  • Hold transition conferences with senior students
  • Facilitate all standardized testing

Social Worker

Jennifer Gleason (x-8210) jgleason@bhsd228.com

Keith Huhn (x-8236) khuhn@bhsd228.com

  • Provide individual and group counseling to identified students
  • Consult with parents on available community resources

Speech Language Pathologist

John McGarry (x-8225) jmcgarry@bhsd228.com

  • Provide students with speech and language support
  • Provide teachers with speech and language strategies

Special Education Coordinator

Tyler Teaney (x-8245) tteaney@bhsd228.com

  • Support students, parents and staff with behavior management techniques
  • Supervise the Special Education Department
  • Facilitate all testing associated with special education eligibility