Student Services

The Student Services Department works with students, parents, and staff to address the academic, college and career, and social/emotional needs of our students. Below is a list of Student Services staff members and their general responsibilities:


Assistant Principal for Student Services

Steve Granat (Ext. 8206); sgranat@bhsd228.com

  • Supervises the Student Services Department

Registrar: Patti Cusack (Ext. 8251); pcusack@bhsd228.com

Student Services Secretary: Tracy Griffin (Ext. 8207); tgriffin@bhsd228.com

Office Fax: 708-532-4332


Deans

Wendy Podbielniak (Ext. 8212); wpodbielniak@bhsd228.com

Brian Gibbons (Ext. 8213); bgibbons@bhsd228.com

  • Monitor student attendance

  • Address disciplinary situations

  • Promote an orderly, safe, and secure learning environment

Attendance Secretary: Cathy Hendrickson (Ext. 8209); chendrickson@bhsd228.com

Discipline Secretary: Sewillar (Candy) Williams (Ext. 8208); sywilliams@bhsd228.com


Counselors

Kelly D'Ercole (A-Fe) (Ext. 8214); kdercole@bhsd228.com

Cheri Walsh (Fi-Le) (Ext. 8217); cwalsh@bhsd228.com

Anitrese Wilks (Li-Ro) (Ext. 8216); awilks@bhsd228.com

Dori Neven (Ru-Z) (Ext. 8215); dneven@bhsd228.com

Shannon Gormley (Ext. 8226); sgormley@bhsd228.com

  • Provide guidance on academics, college & career, social/emotional and personal issues

  • Create and maintain student schedules

  • Communicate with parents on student progress

Student Services Project Manager

  • Coordinates special projects for the Student Services Department

  • Manages the data collection for Student Services programs

  • Arranges for career speakers/college visits


Social Workers

Jennifer Gleason (Ext. 8210); jgleason@bhsd228.com

Keith Huhn (Ext. 8236); khuhn@bhsd228.com

  • Provide individual and group counseling to identified students

  • Consult with parents on available community resources

  • Supports students, parents and staff with behavior management techniques


Nurse

Colleen Konecki (Ext. 8211); ckonecki@bhsd228.com

  • Responds to student illnesses and injuries

  • Administers student in-school medications

  • Reviews student immunization records


Special Education Coordinator

Tyler Teaney (Ext. 8245); tteaney@bhsd228.com

  • Supervises the Special Education Department

  • Facilitates all testing associated with special education eligibility

Special Education Secretary: Janet McGrath (Ext. 8234); jmcgrath@bhsd228.com

Service Facilitator

Heather Kijewski (Ext. 5491); hkijewski@bhsd228.com

  • Maintains student accommodation information

  • Holds transition conferences with senior students

  • Facilitates all standardized testing


Psychologist

Kelly Eastman (Ext. 8233); keastman@bhsd228.com

  • Coordinates programming for special education students

  • Screens and assesses possible candidates for special education

  • Obtains and maintains special education records


Speech Language Pathologist

Jessica Bogacz (Ext. 8225); jbogacz@bhsd228.com

  • Provides students with speech and language support

  • Provides teachers with speech and language strategies