Test of Time Award

The AITO Test of Time Award

In 2016, AITO established an annual Test of Time Award to recognize a research contribution that had a lasting impact on the field. The award is given by AITO at the ECOOP conference to the authors of an ECOOP paper published 20 years earlier.

The award will be given by a three person committee composed of

  • a member of the AITO executive committee

  • a member of the organizing or program committee of the year in question

  • a member of the organizing or program committee of the year when the award will be given

Recipients of the Award

2021, Aarhus

An Overview of AspectJ. Gregor Kiczales, Erik Hilsdale, Jim Hugunin, Mik Kersten, Jeffrey Palm, William G. Griswold. ECOOP 2001

2020, Berlin

Load-time Structural Reflection in Java. Shigeru Chiba. ECOOP 2000

2019, London

Unifying Genericity - Combining the Benefits of Virtual Types and Parameterized Classes. Kresten Krab Thorup, Mads Torgersen. ECOOP 1999

2018, Amsterdam

Flexible Alias Protection. James Noble, Jan Vitek, John Potter. ECOOP 1998.

2017, Barcelona

Aspect-oriented programming. Gregor Kiczales, John Lamping, Anurag Mendhekar, Chris Maeda, Cristina Lopes, Jean-Marc Loingtier, John Irwin. ECOOP 1997.

2016, Rome

Eliminating Virtual Function Calls in C++ Programs. Gerald Aigner, Urs Hölzle. ECOOP 1996.