Association Internationale 

pour les Technologies Objets

AITO e.V. is the Association Internationale pour les Technologies Objets, a non-profit association registered in Kaiserslautern, Germany. The initial purpose of the Association was to promote the advancement of research in object-oriented technology, primarily in Europe, in particular through the organization of the annual European Conference on Object-Oriented Programming (ECOOP). Meanwhile the scope has been broadened to all aspects of practice and theory of programming languages, systems and environments, ranging the whole spectrum from novel ideas to evaluation of existing solutions.

AITO e.V. is using its subsidiary AITO Services GmbH to organize and run ECOOP and other scientific conferences.

The members of 2023 Dahl-Nygaard Award Committee are

     - John Boyland (chair)

     - Philipp Haller

     - Görel Hedin

     - Anders Møller

     - Jan Vitek

2024 Call for nominations coming soon

AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prizes 2022

AITO is happy to announce the winners of the Dahl-Nygaard Prizes for 2022.

The Senior Prize is awarded to Dan Ingalls.

The Junior Prize is awarded to Magnus Madsen.

The Dahl-Nygaard Prizes for 2022 were given during ECOOP 2022 held in Berlin, Germany 06-10 2022.

Read the full announcement.

AITO Test of Time Award 2021

AITO is glad to announce the winners of the Test of Time Award for 2021.

The award will be given during ECOOP 2021 virtually held in Aarhus, Denmark, July 11-17 2021.

Read the full announcement.

Past edition of ECOOP

ECOOP 2022 was held in Berlin, Germany, Mon 6 - Fri 10 June 2022. The Program Committee Co-Chairs for ECOOP 2022 were Karim Ali and Jan Vitek, Northeastern University / Czech Technical University, the General Chair was Mira Mezini, TU Darmstadt, Germany.

Previous editions of ECOOP (past four years)

The 2021 edition of ECOOP was held virtually in Aarhus, Denmark, 12 - 16 July. The Program Committee Chair for ECOOP 2021 was Manu Sridharan, University of California at Riverside.

The 2020 edition of ECOOP was held virtually together with SPLASH November 15-17, 2020. The Program Committee Chair for ECOOP 2020 was Robert Hirschfeld, Hasso Plattner Institute (HPI), University of Potsdam, Germany.

The 2019 edition of ECOOP was held in London, UK, July 15-19. The Program Committee Chair for ECOOP 2019 was Alastair Donaldson, Imperial College, London.

The 2018 edition of ECOOP was held in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, June 16 - 23. The Program Committee Chair for ECOOP 2018 was Todd Millstein, UCLA, USA .

Conference Series

Interested in hosting an ECOOP?

AITO is soliciting proposals for hosting future ECOOP conferences. If you are interested in hosting ECOOP, contact the President of AITO, the Secretary, or the Treasurer