Past Announcements


Dave Myszka received the 2016 School of Engineering Vision Award for Innovation, which recognizes faculty and staff whom have made significant contributions to the education of our students through innovative teaching strategies.

Tanner Rolfe won the American Association for Advancement of Science's (AAAS) Science and Human Rights Coalition third annual student essay competition. Tanner’s essay, “Living Water: A Catholic Social Teaching Perspective on PFOA and Human Rights” was recognized at the July 25, 2016 Science and Human Rights Coalition Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Dave Myszka was invited to give a lecture series on refrigeration compressor design and analysis for Emerson engineers at the University of Dayton China Institute.

Drew Murray gave one of the keynote addresses at the Software and Applications of Numerical Algebraic Geometry Workshop at Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana. His talk was "Applications of Bertini in Kinematics, Robotics and Machine Design."

Bingjue Li won the Outstanding Research Award at the Graduate Student Showcase held on April 20 in the Meyer Room at River Campus.


In the spirit of the holiday season, we offer this greeting card, featuring the variable geometry extrusion die project funded by National Science Foundation.

As part of the "90 Second Lectures" series, Drew Murray was featured in Why Are We Addicted to Gasoline?

Drew Murray was invited to present "Complexity for Simplicity: The Elegance of Variable Geometry Mechanisms" at the 6th annual Spotlight on Technology, Arts, Research, and Scholarship Symposium (STARS).

Kevin Giaier won the Outstanding Research Award at the inaugural Graduate Student Showcase held on April 15 in the Meyer Room at River Campus.


The DIMLab's shape-changing rigid-body mechanisms research was recognized by Mechanical Design 101The article can be accessed directly here.

Drew Murray was recognized for being elected to the grade of ASME Fellow at the International Design Engineering Technical Conferences in Buffalo, August 17-20, 2014.

Past student Seb Cotton is making news for his Outrunner robot project. Be sure to watch the video!

Kevin Giaier won the Best Presentation Award in the Structures/Solid Mechanics division at the 9th Dayton Engineering Sciences Symposium. The ASME Dayton Section presented him with the award at the AIAA/ASME Honors & Awards Banquet on May 21st, 2014.


DIMLab M.S. student Josh Nieman was the star in a video that won the Siemens Urban Ideas Contest. His friends John Bernard and Nick Holliday made the video.

Drew Murray received the Alumni Award for Faculty Teaching, the University of Dayton's highest recognition of teaching. This video was made to celebrate the accomplishment.


Dave Myszka and Drew Murray received funding from the National Science Foundation to support the three-year project “Variable-Geometry Dies for Polymer Extrusion.” Visit the Variable Geometry Extrusion Die site.

The University of Dayton started a “90 Second Lectures” series. As part of the series, Drew Murray presented "Can You Lift the Empire State Building with the Weight of a Notebook?"