Workshop for Young Female Researchers in Speech Science & Technology

Saturday September 1, 2018

Our highly valued sponsors

Platinum sponsors

Diamond sponsors

Gold sponsors

Silver sponsors

A workshop for women undergraduate and masters students who are currently working in speech science and technology is to be held at Interspeech 2018 on September 1, 2018 from 10am to 5pm followed by a dinner with invited senior members of the Interspeech community. It will feature panel discussions with senior female researchers in the field, student poster presentations and a mentoring session.

The workshop is the third of its kind, after a successful inaugural event YFRSW 2016, at Interspeech 2016 in San Francisco and YFRSW 2017 at Interspeech 2017 in Stockholm. It is designed to foster interest in research in our field in women at the undergraduate or master level who have not yet committed to getting a PhD in speech science or technology areas, but who have had some research experience in their college and universities via individual or group projects.

Travel funds are available for students accepted to attend the workshop. Up to $2000 is available for each student, reimbursing for economy-class flights, hotel (two nights), meals, and transportation to the venue.

Please direct any questions to:

Best poster awards

Winner: Mounika Kamsali Veera, IIIT Hyderabad

Runner-up: Paula Wesselman, Cambridge Uni

Organizing committee


  • Preethi Jyothi (IIT Bombay)
  • Odette Scharenborg (Delft University of Technology)
  • Heidi Christensen (University of Sheffield)

Organizing committee:

  • Amber Afshan (UCLA),
  • Kay Berkling (Karlsruhe University),
  • Heidi Christensen (University of Sheffield)
  • Maxine Eskenazi (CMU)
  • Carol Espy-Wilson (University of Maryland)
  • Milica Gasic (Cambridge University)
  • Dilek Hakkani-Tür (Google Inc)
  • Preethi Jyothi (IIT Bombay)
  • Esther Klabbers (ReadSpeaker)
  • Lori Lamel (LIMSI CNRS)
  • Yang Liu (University of Texas Dallas)
  • Karen Livescu (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago)
  • Pratibha Moogi (Samsung Electronics)
  • Emily Mower Provost (University of Michigan)
  • Catharine Oertel (EPFL)
  • Bhuvana Ramabhadran (Google Inc)
  • Odette Scharenborg (Delft University of Technology)
  • Elizabeth Shriberg (Ellipsis Health Inc)
  • Isabel Trancoso (INESC-ID / Instituto Superior Técnico)