SIAM Student Chapter

University of Limerick

Welcome to the UL SIAM Student Chapter homepage. SIAM exists to ensure the strongest interactions between mathematics and other scientific and technological communities through membership activities, publication of journals and books, and conferences. The UL SIAM Student Chapter is a fast-growing society devoted to facilitating engagement between the University of Limerick’s international applied mathematics community and industry through conferences, workshops and other events. We are part of the SIAM UK & Republic of Ireland Section of SIAM; see also the SIAM Student Chapters website for further details on student chapters around the globe.

Please see our Events page for information on past and upcoming chapter events.

If you have any queries, please contact us at

Membership / Join the Chapter

Becoming a chapter member is free and open to all undergraduate and postgraduate students of University of Limerick who are engaged or interested in mathematics or scientific computing and their applications.

Benefits include

  • Free membership in two SIAM Activity Groups (SIAG);
  • Free subscription to SIAM News;
  • Free electronic subscription to SIAM Review (and deeply discounted student rates for print subscription);
  • 30% discount on all SIAM books;
  • 80% discount on up to four (4) subscriptions to SIAM journals in print and any number of electronic journals;
  • 95% discount on electronic access to current content and archives for all 13 journals;
  • Students paying the discounted rate are eligible to vote in SIAM elections;
  • All students, regardless of SIAM membership status, are eligible for greatly reduced registration rates (up to 85% discount off non-member fee) to attend SIAM conferences, and can join or start a student chapter of SIAM on their campus.

All student members of the chapter are eligible for free student membership of SIAM. For further information contact us at

Current Officers (2017-2018)

President: Joseph O'Brien (

Vice President: Fatima-Zahra Jaouimaa (

Secretary: Niall McInerney (

Treasurer: James Fannon (

Faculty Adviser: Professor James Gleeson (

Previous Officers (2016-2017)

President: Niall McInerney

Vice President: Kevin Devine

Secretary/Treasurer: Gary O'Keeffe