List of SJB Statements

Click the titles to download PDF statements and press releases.

Monday, June 25, 2022 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Reproductive Justice

Monday, March 14, 2022 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Privy Council Ruling on Marriage Equality

Wednesday, March 2, 2022 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Marcus Jones & Cole Simons

Thursday, February 3, 2022 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Saltus Lesson

Monday, November 8, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Police Misconduct

Monday, November 1, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Gun Violence

Monday, August 30, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Barbi Bishop Ruling: FIRE BARBI TODAY.

Monday, May 31, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda One Year Anniversary

Tuesday, May 18, 2021 | Funding Private Schools is not Black Education Empowerment

Saturday, May 1, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on May Day 2021

Thursday, March 18, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Calls for Removal of Customs Duty on Essential Motherhood And Menstruation Products

Monday, March 8, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Chooses to Challenge Acts of Violence Against Women

Tuesday, March 2, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Cannabis Reform Task Force Response to Cannabis Licensing Act 2020 - An Open Letter to the Senate

Monday, February 15, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement: Reminder: Marcus Jones believes Donald Trump was appointed by God

Tuesday, February 2, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement on Collective Worship in Schools

Tuesday, January 19, 2021 | Social Justice Bermuda Statement: Marcus Jones is not fit to sit in the Senate

Friday, November 6, 2020 | Social Justice Bermuda releases Throne Speech Update: Next Hundred Days

Tuesday, November 2, 2022

"To achieve social justice, build a team and get organised" - TeAnn Hassell, Activist and Chef


TeAnn Hassell is a chef and CEO at R.E.A.L., a private chef service which stands for Relationship. Eating. Authentic. Love. She is also an activist with Social Justice Bermuda, an organisation that campaigns to address racism, reform the criminal justice system, improve access to healthcare and food, achieve economic equity, and strengthen public education.


Watch TeAnn's interview with Alvin Carpio, Founding Director of the School of Social Justice.

Members of Social Justice Bermuda went live on Wednesday, June 2, 2021, at 8:00 pm for the Bernews News & Views series.

We recently marked our one year anniversary, and we will continue to be a voice and an ear.

Read our statement: Social Justice Bermuda One Year Anniversary

Social Justice Bermuda

Social Justice Bermuda (SJB) is a non-hierarchical collective of Bermudians who are inspired by the global Black Lives Matter Movement and the way that communities around the world are standing together to tackle and dismantle oppressive systems of injustice and racism. We are an advocacy group with no political affiliation. While some of our members have publicly identified themselves, others choose to contribute anonymously; there is no official leader of the group.

These are our values.

Click here to download as a PDF

Map: Honouring Bermuda National Heroes - Key Sites

All photos courtesy of Meredith Andrews Photography