10/11
SITUATION 1: R1 on 3B and R2 on 1B with one out. B5 is batting but it is B4’s turn at bat. B5 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to 2B to retire R2, and B5 is safe at 1B. The defensive manager appeals that B5 batted out of turn. Umpire rules that B4 is called out for not batting in order and R1’s run is nullified since B4 is the third out of the inning.
Ruling: Correct. EFFECT. B5’s turn at bat is negated. B4 is called out, and since that is the third out the inning is over. Had that only made two outs, R1 would have returned to 3B and B5 would be the correct batter. Runs scoring on appeal plays are timing plays, unless there are other rules in place that takes the timing of the play out of consideration, and that was the case here with the rule negating the at bat.
SITUATION 2: How are awards determined when a fielder carries or throws a live ball into the dugout or any dead-ball area? RULING: The award is one base if a ball is unintentionally carried into a dugout or other dead-ball area, or a fielder loses possession and the ball goes out of play, or a pitch goes into dead ball area, the award is one base. Any other time a live ball is carried or thrown into dead-ball area, the award is two bases. (8-14-C-5; 8-14- D-1; 10-1-I)
SITUATION 3: R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B and one out. B4 gets a base hit to the outfield. R1 scores, R2 is assisted by the third base coach rounding third base attempting to score. The throw from F7 to the plate eludes F2 and is picked up by the on deck batter and given to the catcher. Umpire rules interference on the on deck batter for the third out.
Ruling: Correct. Effect. When the third base coach assisted R2, R2 is called out and the ball remains live for further play. When the on deck batter picked up the ball, if in the judgment of the umpire F2 would have had a play on B4 had the ball not been picked up, interference would be called. The ball would be dead immeciately when the on deck batter picked up the ball. If, in the umpire’s judgment there would not have been a play on B4, runners would be placed on the last base touched at the time of the interference by the on deck batter.
SITUATION 4: With two outs and R1 on first, F2 does not catch a third strike which rolls along first-base line enabling B4 to reach first and second while F1 chases down the ball. F1 then overthrows third attempting to put out R1. The ball goes into the stands.
RULING: Both R1 and B4 are awarded two bases from the base each occupied when the ball left the hand of F1 on the overthrow. In this situation, both R1 and B4 score since B4 has reached second prior to the thrown ball leaving the hand of F1. (8-14-C-3; 10-1-G-3)
SITUATION 5: B1 hits a long fly ball to left field. F7 goes back to the fence, leaps, but is not able to touch the fly ball. The ball then rebounds off the fence, strikes the fielder’s glove and ricochets over the fence in fair territory.
RULING: Ground Rule Double. When the ball rebounds off the fence and then the glove, it is no longer in flight. (8-14-C-1)
**Next to "the hands are a part of the bat", or "a tie goes to the runner", the idea that a fielder has to throw her hands up on a dead ball is the most notorious rule misconception out there.
There is NO RULE requiring, and none that umpires can impose, players to throw their hands up if a ball passes a dead ball line. If the ball passes, it is DEAD BY RULE whether the player throws her hands up or not.
If it is obviously past the line, it's STILL DEAD by rule, even if a player chases it or plays it.
If it's questionable whether the ball is past the fence, the base umpire may have to go out and make sure it is past and rule a GROUND RULE DOUBLE.
If a fielder reaches for, or touches the ball, then the umpire may not be able to determine whether it was past the fence or not.
A suggested way to "preserve the evidence" IS to raise the hands - but the player can just as easily stand beside the ball motionless - as long as the umpire can tell they're not playing the ball, then the possibility of a dead ball/Ground Rule Double(GRD) is preserved
But - the defense does this at the risk the umpire may judge the ball is not past the dead ball line, and the offense should keep their runners running
If the umpire rules a GRD, the runners can be put back where they belong when the play is over. So throwing the hands up is NOT REQUIRED - it IS a way to visually show a dead ball is not being played - but it's not required and the defense does so at their own risk.
SITUATION 6: R1 on 3B and R2 on 1B with one out. B5 is batting but it is B4’s turn at bat. B5 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to 2B to retire R2, and B5 is safe at 1B. The defensive manager appeals that B5 batted out of turn. Umpire rules that B4 is called out for not batting in order and R1’s run is nullified since B4 is the third out of the inning.
Ruling: Correct. EFFECT. B5’s turn at bat is negated. B4 is called out, and since that is the third out the inning is over. Had that only made two outs, R1 would have returned to 3B and B5 would be the correct batter. Runs scoring on appeal plays are timing plays, unless there are other rules in place that takes the timing of the play out of consideration, and that was the case here with the rule negating the at bat.
SITUATION 7: How are awards determined when a fielder carries or throws a live ball into the dugout or any dead-ball area?
RULING: The award is one base if a ball is unintentionally carried into a dugout or other dead-ball area, or a fielder loses possession and the ball goes out of play, or a pitch goes into dead ball area, the award is one base. Any other time a live ball is carried or thrown into dead-ball area, the award is two bases. (8-14-C-5; 8-14- D-1; 10-1-I)
SITUATION 8: R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B and one out. B4 gets a base hit to the outfield. R1 scores, R2 is assisted by the third base coach rounding third base attempting to score. The throw from F7 to the plate eludes F2 and is picked up by the on deck batter and given to the catcher. Umpire rules interference on the on deck batter for the third out.
Ruling: Correct. Effect. When the third base coach assisted R2, R2 is called out and the ball remains live for further play. When the on deck batter picked up the ball, if in the judgment of the umpire F2 would have had a play on B4 had the ball not been picked up, interference would be called. The ball would be dead immeciately when the on deck batter picked up the ball. If, in the umpire’s judgment there would not have been a play on B4, runners would be placed on the last base touched at the time of the interference by the on deck batter.
*SITUATION 9: With two outs and R1 on first, F2 does not catch a third strike which rolls along first-base line enabling B4 to reach first and second while F1 chases down the ball. F1 then overthrows third attempting to put out R1. The ball goes into the stands.
RULING: Both R1 and B4 are awarded two bases from the base each occupied when the ball left the hand of F1 on the overthrow. In this situation, both R1 and B4 score since B4 has reached second prior to the thrown ball leaving the hand of F1. (8-14-C-3; 10-1-G-3)
*SITUATION 10: B1 hits a long fly ball to left field. F7 goes back to the fence, leaps, but is not able to touch the fly ball. The ball then rebounds off the fence, strikes the fielder’s glove and ricochets over the fence in fair territory.
RULING: Ground Rule Double. When the ball rebounds off the fence and then the glove, it is no longer in flight. (8-14-C-1)
SITUATION 11: With no one on, B1 singles to F7. F3 is standing on the inside corner of first base, forcing B1 to the back of the bag. B1 a) rounds first base, stops, and then returns to first without incident, b) rounds first base, doesn’t stop, and is thrown out at second base on a close play, or c) rounds first base, doesn’t stop, and is thrown out at second by forty feet.
Ruling - in a), b) and c), DELAYED DEAD BALL and OBSTRUCTION. The umpire shall call OBS and signal a DDB. Unless an exception applies, B1 may not be put out between first and second bases. In a), at the conclusion of the play, LIVE BALL and NO AWARD, if in the umpire’s judgment B1 attained the base (first) she would have made, had there been no OBS. In b) and c), DEAD BALL (when B1 is put out) and an AWARD, because B1 may not be put out between the 2 bases where the OBS occurred. In b), B1 would likely be awarded second base if, in the umpire’s judgment, she would have attained second if the OBS had not occurred. In c), B1 is awarded first, unless the umpire judges she would have made second without OBS. Given the result of the play, that seems unlikely (3-OBSTRUCTION, p 23; 8-13, p 45; 8-15-B-4, p 47 and 10-3, p 66)
SITUATION 12: In the third inning, S1 reports to the plate umpire, but (a) her name is not on the lineup card even though she was on the bench at the start of the game; (b) S1 arrived after the game had started and, therefore, was not on the lineup card; or (c) S1’s name is listed properly, but her number is listed incorrectly. RULING: In all cases, S1 is eligible to enter the game as a substitute. In (a) and (b) S1’s information may be added to the lineup card, and in (c) the number is corrected. (5-1-B)
Play of the day:
SITUATION 13: The batting line-up of Team A is 1.#10, Smith, 2.#3 Winger, 3.#18 Fox, 4.#1 Jackson, 5.#33 Wilder, 6.#8 Buck, 7.#12 King, 8.# 19 Bell, 9.#13, Benson.
With #1 on 1st, the 6 hitter #8 us due to bat. Mistakenly, the 7 hitter, #12, bats and gets a single. The 6 hitter, #8 follows and is walked. With bases loaded the 8 hitter, #19, comes to the plate. At this time, a) The offensive team alerts the umpire that the 6 and 7 batters fip-flopped.
Ruling: When a pitch was thrown to #8, the 6 hitter, that legalized the 7 hitter, #12's at bat. Therefore, the 8 hitter, #19 is now the proper batter due up. #19 is declared out, the 6 hitter #8 is removed from base, and her at bat nullified, and she has been skipped in the line-up. #13, Benson the 9 hitter will now be batter due up. The batting order will be followed as originally listed from this point forward.
BOO play #2:
SITUATION 14: The batting order lists-4th Debby Day, #16, 5th Jackie Curry, #25, 6th Lisa Fresh, #3, 7th Wanda Wilson, #19.
In the 2nd inning, Curry, #25, the 5 hitter, incorrectly bats in the 4th spot for Day #16, striking out. The error isn't detected and #16, Day steps in the batters box and hits a single off the first pitch thrown to her. The defense then appeals that they've batted out of order.
Ruling: Since the inital batting out of order went undetected and a pitch thrown to #16 Debby Day, #25, Curry's at-bat has been legalized, and her strikeout stands. The proper batter in the line up should now be the 6 hitter, Lisa Fresh, #3. She is declared out, and the proper batter is now the 7 hitter, #19 Wanda Wilson. #16, Debby Day's at bat has been skipped.
Note: if a pitch had not been thrown to the 4 hitter, #16, Day, before the Defense appealed BOO, the 4 hitter, #16(the proper batter) would have been called out, the strikeout to the 5 hitter, #25, Curry would be taken off the board, and she would be brought up to bat again. Once a pitch, legal or illegal is thrown to the next batter, all action by the improper batter becomes legal, and the lineup picks up after her batting position.
PHRASES YOU NEED TO KNOW ON A BALL FIELD:
No INT (Interference) - "coach, in my judgment she WASN'T MAKING AN INITIAL PLAY on a batted ball"
Obstruction on a throw - "coach, in my judgment she hindered the runner while not in possession of the ball"
Making a turn - "coach, in my judgment, she MADE AN ATTEMPT to go to second"
Look Back violation - "coach, once she stopped, in my judgment she did not IMMEDIATELY return (or go forward)
No Look Back Violation - "coach, in my judgment, I had your pitcher MAKING A PLAY (releasing the runner)"
Batter lets pitch hit her (not in zone) "coach, in my judgment, I don't have her MOVING INTO THAT PITCH"
Batter doesn't move in box to allow F2 to throw to third "coach, in my judgment, I don't have her REPOSITIONING to interfere with the throw"
F1 not "toeing up" - "coach, her non-pivot foot is not in contact with the pitching plate"
Quick pitching - "coach, she's pitching while the batter is OFF BALANCE"
Runner NOT leaving early on pitch - "coach, her PUSH FOOT was still in contact until the release (even though the body was moving), so I don't have her leaving early"
Appeal for missing a base denied - "coach, I did not see her miss that base" - "but blue, did you see her touch it?" - "coach, I did not see her MISS the base, and that's all I can give you" COMMENT - never say I saw her touch it, because the next time when you say it differently, they'll use it against you - always "I didn't see her leave early (or miss)"
When a coach wants to argue a banger - "coach, I hear you, but on this one, we're just gonna have to agree to disagree"
Remember, NEVER SHOUT ACROSS THE FIELD. Calmly close the distance between the two of you (givng yourself time to calm down and think of what you're going to say) and then face to face in a quiet tone, make clear your expectations. If he/she has a question, try one of the above phrases to answer, if applicable. Once your answer is given, if the coach continues to debate, simply say, "coach your question has been asked and answered, this conversation is over, let's play ball." The more animated the coach is, the calmer you must remain.