History of Sharkey County

Sharkey County is a county located in the state of Mississippi. It lies in the southern part of the Mississippi Delta Region with Rolling Fork as its county seat. The county was created from the existing counties of Warren, Washington, and Issaquena in 1876. The county is named after William L. Sharkey, who was the provisional Governor of Mississippi for four months in 1865.

Current Communities are:

Incorporated towns:

  • Anguilla
  • Cary
  • Rolling Fork

Unincorporated communities:

  • Delta City
  • Egremont
  • Nitta Yuma
  • Onward
  • Panther Burn
  • Spanish Fort