Attending

The workshop will be run as part of the 2021 ACM Conference on Human Information Interaction and Retrieval.

You do not have to have submitted a paper to participate in the workshop. The paper presentations are there to seed ideas for the whole group, but ample space is planned for informal presentations, group discussion and other activities. If you do not have time to make a formal proposal, you will still be able to present ideas and participate in discussion during the workshop.

The workshop will run in two 2-hour sessions, allowing participation from all parts of the world. The session times are provisionally set at:

9am UTC (8pm AEDT) 19th March 2021 (Session 1)
9pm UTC (8am AEDT, 1pm PST) 19th March 2021 (Session 2)

We anticipate that everyone should be able to join us for at least one session without anti-social hours. A more detailed programme is being finalised and should be available mid-February. In case of questions, email George Buchanan for more information.

Session 1 Outline:

  • Introductions etc.: 15 minutes

  • Talk #1: Elaine Toms: 15 minutes + 10 minutes for questions

  • Talk #2: Pertti Vakkari: 15 minutes + 10 minutes for questions

  • Informal Presentations: 15 minutes

  • Breakout Discussion #1: 20 minutes

  • Plenary Discussion: 15 minutes

  • Closeout/Handover: 5 Minutes

Session 2 Outline:

  • Return and new introductions: 10 minutes

  • Invited Talk (Andy Edmonds): 20 minutes + 10 minutes for questions

  • Talk #3 Jacek Gwizdka et al: 15 minutes + 10 minutes for questions

  • Talk #4 Samuel Dodson et al: 15 minutes + 10 minutes for questions

  • Breakout Discussion #2: 20 minutes

  • Round up and conclusion: 10 minutes

PDFs of some of the talks is available below:

IIRMetrics 2021 Vakkari.pdf