The Gender and Political Psychology (GPP) Network seeks to honor its members for outstanding contributions to the field – and to GPP – through establishing three permanent awards. These awards are meant to acknowledge the impact of gender and political psychology scholars at various stages of their careers. The awards will be given out in conjunction with gatherings of the GPP Network such as conferences, pre-conferences or conferences within a conference, or at a time of the GPP Steering Committee’s choosing.

The GPP Steering Committee will set a deadline for nominations and appoint review committees for each award. The review committee for each award should be comprised of 3-4 scholars who represent the two ranks not included in the award criteria (i.e., for the early career award there should be at least one associate and one full professor on the committee), representation from at least two disciplines (psychology, political science, communication), and, where possible, include a former winner of the award.

The GPP Early Career Research Award is awarded to a pre-tenure scholar who has impacted the study of political psychology and gender through their research contributions. The criteria for the award include: an established publication record, a continuing research agenda that offers promise to the field, and evidence of scholarly impact.

The 2017-2018 GPP Early Career Research Award is awarded to Nichole Bauer, Assistant Professor of Communication and Political Science at Louisiana State University. Dr. Bauer has demonstrated an excellent publication record at such an early stage of her career. She earned her Ph.D. in 2014 from Indiana University and has already been an author of ten peer-reviewed articles, including multiple pieces in Political Psychology and Political Behavior. She has a large pipeline of ongoing research and is already widely cited, with 146 citations. Her work is creative and her research agenda is both cohesive and broad. Her research advances our understanding of a central issue in the study of gender and political psychology: the interaction between a candidate’s identity, campaign messages, and the effects these have on voter decision-making. Dr. Bauer has also been an active participant in the Gender and Political Psychology network. The committee, composed of Nadia Brown, Heather Bullock, J. Celeste Lay, and Kira Sanbonmatsu, was pleased to have multiple worthy candidates.

The 2017-2018 GPP Mentoring Award Committee is pleased to give the inaugural mentoring awards to Mirya Holman, Associate Professor of Political Science at Tulane University and Kira Sanbonmatsu, Professor of Political Science at Rutgers University. Both Dr. Holman and Dr. Sanbonmatsu embody what it means to be an excellent mentor: providing support and encouragement to multiple members of the GPP network, connecting members of the network to key publishing and mentoring opportunities, promoting the work of GPP members, and taking significant time and effort to provide constructive criticism on others' work. We recognize Mirya Holman for the following unique contributions: her work as founder of the GPP Writing Group; the thoughtfulness with which she advises colleagues on how to organize their time and goals; her embodiment of work-life balance through her passion for food, music, and travel; her promotion of GPP members' work on social media; and her generosity of spirit in encouraging the work of countless GPP members. We recognize Kira Sanbonmatsu for assisting with the first GPP conference at Rutgers, which never would have happened without her support; her quiet and warm demeanor in comforting and reaching out to junior scholars, particularly women of color; her generosity of time through her presence on panels and in mentoring groups at multiple GPP conferences; her time connecting members of the GPP network with book publishing opportunities; and the example she sets of producing truly excellent scholarship in gender and political psychology. The GPP network contains so many excellent mentors, yet the committee, consisting of Monica Schneider (Miami University), Amanda Johnston (University of Houston – Clear Lake), and Melody Crowder-Meyer (Davidson College), felt strongly that these two stood out.

2017-2018 GPP Teaching Innovation Award committee is pleased to give the inaugural award to Erin Cassese, Associate Professor of Political Science at West Virginia University. Dr. Cassese demonstrated creativity and innovation in creating a new course, Social Movements in Fiction and Film, a course that relies on psychological research about the impact of fiction on political cognition. The course provides a strong example of gender mainstreaming – integrating gender throughout the political science curriculum. Per the award description, Cassese’s submission is attached here for dissemination to the GPP network to improve the teaching of gender and political psychology and to encourage further innovation. The review committee included Angie Bos (Associate Professor of Political Science at the College of Wooster), Zoe Oxley (Professor of Political Science at Union College) and Bettina Spencer (Associate Professor of Psychology at St. Mary’s College).

The 2017-2018 GPP Mid-Career Impact Award Committee is pleased to announce that Monica Schneider, Associate Professor of Political Science at Miami University of Ohio and Angie Bos, Associate Professor of Political Science at the College of Wooster, have been selected as the inaugural recipients of the award. These two scholars have been exceptionally productive researchers whose individual-- and collaborative-- work has led to important insights into how and why gender affects political thought and participation. They have also been extraordinarily generous in their service to the field of gender and political science. As co-founders of the GPP network, they have helped to ensure that the field, as well as the scientists working within it, thrive. For their stellar science and their service, they are richly deserving of this recognition. The section committee included Becky Bigler, Heather Silber Mohamed and Tessa Ditonto.