GAGTA 2022

The conference will take place as a hybrid event based in the USA: June 29, 30 online and in person at the Stevens Institute, Hoboken NJ  and  July 1,2,3 online only (based at Hunter College CUNY). There won't be any physical component for July 1,2,3 segment of the conference.  All Zoom info is given on  the Program page. Some funding for US-based persons to attend the in-person component is available from an NSF conference grant.  Please complete this form to request support:

Requests will be considered until funds are exhausted.  Funds are limited and will be restricted to reimbursement of travel and accommodation expenses.  In allocating funds, preference will be given to researchers who are early-career or from under-represented groups.

Email of the organizers:

Modern Group Theory and Related Subjects

The conference will be devoted to the modern aspects of group theory that largely evolve on the intersection of geometric and combinatorial group theory, the theory of dynamical systems, ergodic theory, probability, functional analysis, model theory, and low-dimensional topology.

Titles and Abstracts          Program         Accommodation, Parking 


 Online (July 1-3)    

Emmanuel Breuillard (University of Cambridge)

Martin Bridson (Oxford University)  

Elena Bunina (Moscow State U)

Cornelia Drutu (University of Oxford)

David Fisher (Indiana University)

Damien Gaboriau (ENS Lyon)

Anthony Genevois (University of Montpellier)

Susan Hermiller (University of Nebraska) 

Camille Horbez (University of Paris Orsay)

Pascal Hubert (University of Aix-Marseille) 

Andrei Jaikin-Zapirain (Autonomous University of Madrid)

Nir Lazarovich (Technion)

Yash Lodha (University of Vienna)

Alexander Lubotzky (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) 

Nicolàs Matte Bon (Institut Camille Jordan Lyon)

Aner Shalev (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Katrin Tent (University of Münster)

Giulio Tiozzo (University of Toronto)

Karen Vogtmann (Warwick University)

Yaroslav Vorobets (Texas A&M) 

Armin Weiss (Stuttgart University)

In Person and online (June 29-30)

Corentin Bodart (U of Geneva)

Alexei Miasnikov (Stevens Institute, USA)

Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University)

Eugene Plotkin (Bar Ilan) 

Rizos Sklinos (CAS)

Matthew Tointon (U of Bristol)

Alina Vdovina (U of Newcastle)

Pascal Weil (U of Bordeau)


Jan Cannizzo, Assoc. Professor, Stevens Institute, NJ

Rostislav Grigorchuk  Distinguished Professor, Texas A&M

Sergei Lando Distinguished Professor, HSE 

Olga Kharlampovich Mary P. Dolciani Professor, City University of New York Graduate Center and Hunter College

Tatiana Nagnibeda Professor, University of Geneva 

Denis Osin Professor, Vanderbilt University

Timothy Riley Professor, Cornell University

Denis Serbin, Assoc. Professor, Stevens Institute, NJ

Alexandra Skripchenko Assistant Professor, HSE