In November 2002, the Freedom Food Pantry opened with Cindy VanAsten as president of the organization. The first officers were: Shirley Newhouse as secretary and Cindy Green as treasurer. The Freedom Food Pantry Board included the following members: Don Newhouse, Vi Evers, Germaine Green, Cathy Randerson, Marion Hooyman, Rev. Ronald Ash (pastor of St. Peter Lutheran Church), Mary Kavanaugh, Ardene Weyenberg, Judy Bekkers, Dee Spiegel, Cathy Vander Logt, Kevin Champeau and Trina Buss (Freedom High School student representative).