• NOTE: Our May meeting will be held on the third Thursday and is a joint meeting with the AEG DMV Chapter.
  • Members: Please submit officer nominations by end-April. We'll hold online elections early-May.
  • NOTE: Our meeting and happy hour locations have returned to their usual locations within the DoubleTree.
  • President's welcome letter and new membership form added August 2018
  • Starting September, 2018, PGS meetings are being held on the second Thursday each month, with two exceptions (December and May), so as to overlap less with our fellow professional society meetings.
    • Please see our meeting schedule below
  • The DC Geology Events blog lists our and other geology events in the DMV

Updated May 2019

Meeting sCHEDULE:

Meeting Location:

  • DoubleTree by Hilton McLean Tysons
  • Link to Google Maps: 1960 Chain Bridge Road, McLean, VA 22102
    • If entering address manually, McLean or Tysons address should now work, but please double-check your destination before starting your drive!
  • Transit: Hotel is within one-half mile of Tysons Corner Metro station
    • Sidewalk directions with CAUTION crossing International Dr.
  • Driving: Hotel is near I-495 and Rt. 123, and has free garage parking available
  • Our private meeting space is in the Peachtree Room at the rear of the Harvest Cafe on the second floor of the DoubleTree Hotel.
  • Social time is held the Tysons Social Tavern on the first floor of the DoubleTree Hotel.


  • Members and guests may attend any presentation after dinner for no charge
  • The optional three course dinner cost is discounted to $30 for members in good standing (having paid dues) and for students, is $40 for non-members, and is inclusive of coffee, tax and gratuity
    • NOTE: Dinner costs for the joint AEG-PGS meeting in May are higher ($40 for members, $45 for non-members).
  • Alcoholic beverages may be purchased in the private meeting room on a cash basis
  • Dinner service begins at 7 PM and we estimate that the presentation begins at about 8:15 PM. For attendees who arrive early, social time begins about 6 PM
  • To RSVP, please write to


Society Officers:

  • President: Marc Buursink
  • First Vice-President: Lisa Schleicher
  • Second Vice-President: Catherine Enomoto
  • Secretary: Kori Newman
  • Treasurer: Joe Bennett
  • Soc. of Expl. Geophys. Liaison: Catherine Enomoto

2018–19 Meeting Year