Media

2021

May 22nd: The Economist https://www.economist.com/international/2021/05/22/how-the-pandemic-has-upended-the-lives-of-working-parents

May 13th Der Standard https://www.derstandard.at/story/2000126577642/ungleichheit-nach-corona-kann-eine-erbschaftsteuer-gegenlenken

May 11th: Die Zeit https://www.zeit.de/2021/20/soziale-ungleichheit-corona-krise-einkommen-armut-reichtum-wirtschaft/komplettansicht

April 27th: Voxeu https://voxeu.org/article/lockdowns-widen-gender-gap-mental-health

April 12th: Political Violence at a Glance blog https://politicalviolenceataglance.org/2021/04/12/locked-down-and-lashing-out-whats-driving-anti-asian-hate-crimes/

April 11th: The Conversation https://theconversation.com/british-people-have-unusual-views-on-inequality-new-study-158453

April 7th: Kings College London blog https://www.kcl.ac.uk/british-people-see-geographical-inequalities-as-most-pressing-not-gender-or-race

March 31st: Economic Policy https://www.economic-policy.org/73rd-economic-policy-panel/lockdowns-widen-the-gender-gap-in-mental-health/

March 15th: Etica ed Economia https://www.eticaeconomia.it/il-diseguale-impatto-della-crisi-da-coronavirus-sul-mondo-del-lavoro-germania-regno-unito-e-stati-uniti-a-confronto/

March 11th: UZH Event Series "Pandemic and Economics" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzL67Pu7jO0

March 8th: The Telegraph https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/coronavirus-news-covid-schools-reopen-lockdown-rules-vaccine/

2020

December 1st: Chartered Management Institute https://www.managers.org.uk/knowledge-and-insights/article/the-new-gender-politics-of-return-to-work/

November 6th: The HR Director https://www.thehrdirector.com/legal-updates/legal-updates-2020/two-thirds-uks-furloughed-workers-continued-job-in-covid-19-lockdown/

November 2nd: LSE Blog https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/businessreview/2020/11/02/covid-19-hurt-womens-employment-the-hardest/

October 29th: BBC 5 Radio (last 10min) https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000nsk0

October 14th: Lexology https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=51206693-9749-4fc7-895e-b7ac3e571ca9

October 13th: HCEO Research Spotlight https://hceconomics.uchicago.edu/news/research-spotlight-impact-coronavirus-lockdown-mental-health-evidence-us

September 25th: The Telegrgaph https://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/politics/young-women-bearing-brunt-covids-second-wave/

September 23rd: The Scottish Sun https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/6078238/women-20-40-brunt-second-covid-wave-rise-hospital/

September 23rd: The Sun https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/12746166/women-20-40-brunt-second-covid-wave-rise-hospital/

September 22nd: The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/sep/22/younger-women-bearing-brunt-of-second-wave-of-covid-in-uk

September 15th: Voxeu podcast https://voxeu.org/vox-talks/what-next-uks-furloughed-workers

September 4th: Gulf Times https://www.gulf-times.com/story/672146/Welcome-back-to-school-Britain-s-economy-is-counting-on-you

September 1st: Bloomberg https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-09-01/welcome-back-to-school-britain-s-economy-is-counting-on-you

August 22nd: The Daily Mail https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8654405/SIX-MILLION-furloughed-workers-broke-rules-doing-jobs-home-lockdown-major-report-finds

August 9th: The Observer https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2020/aug/09/two-thirds-of-uks-furloughed-workers-continued-job-in-covid-19-lockdown

August 17th: The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/education/2020/aug/17/not-sure-about-uni-any-more-heres-what-you-need-to-think-about

August 14th: The British Academy https://www.thebritishacademy.ac.uk/news/economists-warn-abrupt-and-premature-lockdown-lift-risks-higher-death-toll-and-double-dip-recession/

August 10th: Personnel Today https://www.personneltoday.com/hr/two-thirds-continued-to-work-while-on-furlough/

August 9th: The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2020/aug/09/two-thirds-of-uks-furloughed-workers-continued-job-in-covid-19-lockdown

August 2nd: Salt Lake Tribune https://www.sltrib.com/opinion/commentary/2020/08/01/utah-board-higher

July 29th: CGTN Europe https://newseu.cgtn.com/news/2020-07-25/Notes-from-a-Pandemic-When-work-stops-working-SoaiBJbvyM/index.html

July 29th: Yahoo UK https://uk.news.yahoo.com/caroline-nokes-interview-boris-johnson-230135680.html

July 15th: Yahoo UK https://uk.movies.yahoo.com/coronavirus-pandemic-affecting-women-men-230107169.html

July 13th: Metro https://metro.co.uk/2020/07/13/female-led-industries-mothers-hit-hardest-governments-sexist-response-12984571/

July 12th: The Times https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/the-cabinet-barbers-let-women-take-the-cuts-vxn908b2r

July 10th: The Standpoint https://standpointmag.co.uk/issues/july-2020/home-economics/

July 8th: Horizont https://www.horizont.net/marketing/nachrichten/war-for-talents-so-veraendert-corona-den-arbeitsmarkt-183959?crefresh=1

July 2nd: National Review https://www.nationalreview.com/corner/jobs-good-news-bad-news-and-wee-timrous-beasties/

June 30th: World Economic Forum https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/06/coronavirus-welfare-state-covid19/

June 28th: NPR https://www.npr.org/2020/06/28/883458147/how-coronavirus-could-widen-the-gender-wage-gap?t=1593364733713

June 25th: Kompas https://bebas.kompas.id/baca/internasional/2020/06/25/wabah-korona-dorong-perempuan-ke-titik-nol/

June 25th: The Week https://www.theweek.co.uk/107346/coronavirus-has-brought-the-welfare-state-back

June 24th: The Conversation https://theconversation.com/coronavirus-has-brought-the-welfare-state-back-and-it-might-be-here-to-stay-138564

June 24th: QRIUS https://qrius.com/the-world-is-seeing-the-return-of-the-welfare-state/

June 23rd: EBC https://fnc.ebc.net.tw/FncNews/life/121438

June 23rd: The Star https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/family/2020/06/23/women-bear-the-brunt-of-virus-fallout-in-the-workplace

June 22nd: Japan Today https://japantoday.com/category/business/women-bear-the-brunt-of-virus-fallout-in-workplace

June 22nd: Economic Times https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/magazines/panache/women-bear-the-brunt-of-covid-outbreak-at-the-workplace-more-likely-to-be-furloughed-and-lose-jobs-as-compared-to-men/articleshow/76507377.cms

June 22nd: The Jakarta Post https://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2020/06/22/women-bear-the-brunt-of-virus-fallout-in-workplace.html

June 22nd: Arab News https://www.arabnews.com/node/1693496/business-economy

June 22nd: The Phnom Penh Post https://www.phnompenhpost.com/lifestyle/women-bear-brunt-virus-fallout-work

June 21st: India Today https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/women-bear-brunt-coronavirus-pandemic-fallout-workplace-1691333-2020-06-21

June 21st: Ultima hora https://www.ultimahora.com/curiosidades-del-mundo-n2891226.html

June 21st: Time of Israel https://www.timesofisrael.com/women-bear-brunt-of-virus-fallout-in-workplace/

June 21st: Bangkok Post https://www.bangkokpost.com/world/1938560/women-bear-the-brunt-of-virus-fallout-in-workplace

June 20th: France 24 https://www.france24.com/es/20200620-la-pandemia-del-coronavirus-un-gran-retroceso-para-el-empleo-de-las-mujeres

June 20th: Sud Ouest https://www.sudouest.fr/2020/06/20/licenciements-demissions-garde-des-enfants-le-covid-19-un-grand-bond-en-arriere-pour-l-emploi-des-femmes-7582072-4688.php

June 20th: Le Journal de Montréal https://www.journaldemontreal.com/2020/06/20/le-covid-19-grand-bond-en-arriere-pour-lemploi-des-femmes

June 20th: NSC Total https://www.nsctotal.com.br/noticias/pandemia-de-coronavirus-um-grande-retrocesso-para-o-emprego-das-mulheres

June 20th: Swiss Info https://www.swissinfo.ch/spa/la-pandemia-del-coronavirus--un-gran-retroceso-para-el-empleo-de-las-mujeres/45850062

June 4th: The Economist https://www.economist.com/finance-and-economics/2020/06/04/downturns-tend-to-reduce-gender-inequality-not-under-covid-19

June 3rd: Die Zeit https://www.zeit.de/wirtschaft/2020-06/wirtschaftskrise-arbeitsmarkt-arbeitslosigkeit-kurzarbeit-corona-prognose/seite-2

June 2nd: Prospect Magazine https://www.prospectmagazine.co.uk/economics-and-finance/the-success-of-the-furlough-scheme-and-the-fear-of-what-comes-next-coronavirus-rishi-sunak

May 29th: Der Spiegel https://www.spiegel.de/international/business/economic-scars-for-decades-to-come-a-f6e1f328-5125-4b6e-b5db-fb03998b05f6

May 23rd: BBC 5 live radio (2h mark) https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000jtfd

May 23rd: Der Spiegel https://www.spiegel.de/wirtschaft/soziales/generation-corona-jung-motiviert-abgehaengt-a-00000000-0002-0001-0000-000171037308

May 22nd: BBC Newsnight https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08dzkvl

May 22nd: Standpoint Magazine https://standpointmag.co.uk/issues/may-june-2020/making-short-work/

May 22nd: Quartz https://qz.com/work/1853196/will-covid-19-worsen-inequality-at-home-for-working-mothers/

May 10th: Metro Brazil https://www.metrojornal.com.br/estilo-vida/2020/05/10/estudos-mostram-que-por-causa-isolamento-maes-gastam-50-mais-tempo-que-pais-na-assistencia-criancas.html

May 8th: Quartz https://qz.com/1853394/lockdown-is-damaging-mental-health-but-only-for-women/

May 7th: CSaP Podcast https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-PabidAUxTc&t=422s

May 6th: Nonprofit Quarterly https://nonprofitquarterly.org/women-work-inequity-the-same-old-story-even-in-a-pandemic/

May 5th: Ökonomenstimme https://www.oekonomenstimme.org/artikel/2020/05/der-corona-schock-und-der-deutsche-arbeitsmarkt-vor-allem-junge-und-niedrig-qualifizierte-betroffen/

May 4th: Libération https://www.liberation.fr/debats/2020/05/04/comment-le-covid-creuse-les-inegalites_1787324

May 4th: BBC Turkey https://www.bbc.com/turkce/haberler-dunya-52533836

May 3rd: UOL https://www.uol.com.br/universa/noticias/redacao/2020/05/03/maes-sao-as-mais-afetadas-pelo-isolamento-indica-pesquisa.htm?app=uol-noticias

May 3rd: The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/03/i-feel-like-a-1950s-housewife-how-lockdown-has-exposed-the-gender-divide

April 30th: The Economist https://www-economist-com.ezp.lib.cam.ac.uk/briefing/2020/04/30/the-90-economy-that-lockdowns-will-leave-behind

April 28th: The Naked Scientist Podcast https://www.thenakedscientists.com/articles/interviews/covid-19-and-economy

April 28th: Wired https://www.wired.co.uk/article/coronavirus-economic-impact

April 27th: Il Sole 24 Ore https://24plus.ilsole24ore.com/art/perche-millennials-usciranno-ancora-piu-poveri-questa-crisi-ADfBzhL

April 27th: Vogue https://www.vogue.co.uk/arts-and-lifestyle/article/job-searching-during-lockdown

April 22nd: Cambridge Network https://www.cambridgenetwork.co.uk/news/women-bear-brunt-coronavirus-economic-shutdown-uk-and-us

April 21st: Vice https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/5dmxv5/what-our-lockdown-exit-strategy-should-be-according-to-three-experts

April 21st: Mirage News https://www.miragenews.com/women-bear-brunt-of-coronavirus-economic-shutdown-in-uk-and-us/

April 21st: LSE blog https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/businessreview/2020/04/21/covid-19-is-increasing-the-divide-in-life-chances-between-rich-and-poor/

April 17th: Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/wesleywhistle/2020/04/17/college-graduates-are-less-likely-to-become-unemployed-due-to-the-coronavirus/#472afd2e61e4

April 17th: QNewsHub https://qnewshub.com/business/college-graduates-are-less-likely-to-become-unemployed-due-to-the-coronavirus/

April 16th: The Economist https://www.economist.com/united-states/2020/04/16/american-inequality-meets-covid-19

April 13th: Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/after-the-virus-will-we-choose-solidarity-or-division/2020/04/12/0acc7594-7b67-11ea-9bee-c5bf9d2e3288_story.html

April 8th: Voxeu https://voxeu.org/article/large-and-unequal-impact-covid-19-workers

April 8th: Wired Magazine https://www.wired.co.uk/article/coronavirus-jobs-market

April 8th: Yahoo Italy https://it.notizie.yahoo.com/il-coronavirus-rotto-il-mercato-124730451.html

April 5th: The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/apr/05/covid-19-jobs-wipeout-young-low-earners-hardest-hit

April 5th: Phys.org https://phys.org/news/2020-04-younger-workers-harder-coronavirus-economic.html

April 4th: The Times https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/business/coronavirus-young-and-low-paid-hit-the-hardest-by-impact-of-covid-19-study-by-top-universities-shows-rwmm8vnr6

April 3rd: BBC Newsnight https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m000gxgn/newsnight-03042020

April 3rd: Mirage News https://www.miragenews.com/workers-under-30-hit-harder-by-coronavirus-economic-shock-in-uk-and-us/

April 3rd: Telegraph and Argus https://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/news/18355432.live-latest-news-coronavirus/

April 3rd: Mirage News https://www.miragenews.com/workers-under-30-hit-harder-by-coronavirus-economic-shock-in-uk-and-us/

April 3rd: The Telegraph https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2020/04/03/young-poor-hit-first-coronavirus-ravages-economy/