July 1st, 2018


Article I. Name

The name of this organization is the California Music Educators Association (herein “CMEA”) Capitol Section. The organization is a nonprofit California Corporation organized under California law and federal law as an Internal Revenue Code Section 501 (c) (6) corporation, exempt from state and federal taxes. CMEA is a federated unit of the National Association for Music Education (herein “NAfME”) and will cooperate with state and federal agencies and educational organizations in matters relating to music education. CMEA Capitol Section Constitution and Bylaws must be consistent with CMEA and NAfME’s; in the event of a conflict NAfME’s provisions will be observed.

Article II. Purpose

The purposes of this organization are: (1) to promote access to a sequential music education for all Pre-K through Grade 12 students taught by fully qualified music educators; (2) to support and improve existing music programs; (3) to promote quality pre-service and in-service music teacher preparation programs; and, (4) to create a greater awareness of the value of music education through partnerships with other associations and advocacy among state and local agencies.

Article III. Scope

The Capitol Section of CMEA shall be comprised of members from the following areas:

Area I: Yolo County, Area II: Placer County, Area III: Amador and El Dorado County, Area IV: Sacramento County- North, Area V: Sacramento County- South

Article IV. Members

Section 1. Membership for Music Educators. Membership is open to all music educators working in public and private schools, colleges, and universities residing in the geographic area of the Capitol Section. Membership is contingent on the payment of annual dues and shall run for one year from the month NAfME receives the dues.

Section 2. Classes of Members. Classes of membership are determined by the state CMEA.

Article V. Amendments

Section 1. Proposal. Proposed amendments may be initiated by (1) The Board of Directors, or (2) A petition presented to the Board of Directors signed by not fewer than ten members.

Section 2. Process. When a proposed amendment has been initiated, the Board of Directors shall email the proposed changes and the date of the election within thirty (30) days of the initiation. The election shall take place not less than thirty (30) days or more than forty-five (45) days after the notice has been sent. This Constitution may be amended when a proposition to amend is approved by two-thirds of the active members voting.The approved amendment shall become effective on the subsequent July 1.

Article VI. Governance

Section 1. Officers. All elected and appointed officers of the Capitol Section Board of Directors must be current members of CMEA in order to hold office. The Board of Directors will consist of the Executive Board and Council of Representatives.

Section 2. Executive Committee Board. This board shall consist of the President, President Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer.: The Executive Committee shall enact the policy of the Board of Directors. The Executive Board shall conduct the business of CMEA Capitol Section in compliance with the policies and procedures established by the State CMEA Board of Directors, Capitol Section Board of Directors and Bylaws. The Executive Board shall be responsible for policy development. The Executive Board shall appoint members to fill vacancies in office for the remainder of the current term.

Section 3. Council of Representatives. The Council of Representatives shall consist of the following elected representative positions: High School Choral, Middle School Choral, Elementary Music, High School Band, Middle School Band, Orchestra, Higher Education, NAfME Collegiate; and appointed officers; Advocacy, Area Representative, Assistant Area Representative, Jazz, Industry, Festival Coordinator, Webmaster, Honor Choir, Honor Band, Honor Orchestra, Awards/Banquet. The appointed officers shall attend meetings but shall have no vote.

Section 4. Terms of Office. Their terms of office shall begin the first of July following their election and shall run for two years or until their successors take office.