3rd International Workshop on Conversational Approaches to Information Retrieval (CAIR'20)


CHIIR 2020

Follow us: @CAIRWorkshop


Recent advances in commercial conversational services that allow naturally spoken and typed interaction, particularly for well-formulated questions and commands, have increased the need for more human-centric interactions in information retrieval. The Third International Workshop on Conversational Approaches to Information Retrieval (CAIR'20) will again bring together academic and industrial researchers to create a forum for research on conversational approaches to search. A specific focus will be on techniques that support complex and multi-turn user-machine dialogues for information access and retrieval, and multi-modal interfaces for interacting with such systems. We invite submissions addressing all modalities of conversation, including speech-based, text-based, and multimodal interaction. We also welcome studies of human-human interaction (e.g., collaborative search) that can inform the design of conversational search applications, and work on evaluation of conversational approaches.

Important Dates

        • Deadline for workshop papers: January 10, 2020
        • Notification of paper acceptance: January 24, 2020
        • Deadline for early-bird conference registration: 31 January, 2020
        • Deadline for final paper versions: February 14, 2020
        • Workshop date: March 18, 2020

Dr. Daniel M. Russell

Google Inc.

Accepted Papers

Program Committee

    • Mohammad Aliannejadi (Università della Svizzera Italiana)
    • Sandeep Avula (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    • Leif Azzopardi (University of Strathclyde)
    • Nicholas J. Belkin (Rutgers University)
    • Aleksandr Chuklin (Google Research)
    • Ido Guy (eBay)
    • Jiepu Jiang (Virginia Tech)
    • Gareth Jones (Dublin City University)
    • Evangelos Kanoulas (University of Amsterdam)
    • Johannes Kiesel (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
    • Karthik Raghunathan (MindMeld)
    • Alexandra Vtyurina (University of Waterloo)
    • Liu Yang (Google)
    • Imed Zitouni (Google)


  • Hideo Joho (University of Tsukuba)
  • Damiano Spina (RMIT University)
  • Paul Thomas (Microsoft)
  • Johanne R. Trippas (RMIT University)

Steering Committee

    • Jaime Arguello (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    • Lawrence Cavedon (RMIT University)
    • Fernando Diaz (Microsoft)
    • Dilek Hakkani-Tur (Google)
    • Julia Kiseleva (Microsoft & University of Amsterdam)
    • Filip Radlinski (Google)
    • Mark Sanderson (RMIT University)
    • and organizers