The 5 rule Misconceptions
Click on the links to see clips of each ruling
In this case, the player is making a legal play by reaching for the ball without displacing or making significant contact with the opponent. Just because a player jumps higher or reaches over another does not automatically make it a foul—it only becomes a foul if there is clear pushing, holding, or illegal contact that affects the opponent’s ability to play the ball.
In this play, the defender extends their arm to reach for the ball but does not make illegal contact with the offensive player. Under NFHS rules, simply "reaching in" is not a foul unless there is illegal contact, such as grabbing, holding, or impeding the offensive player's movement. Since the defender legally reaches for the ball without making significant contact with the opponent’s arm or body, there is no foul on the play.
In this play, the defender establishes legal guarding position with both feet on the floor, facing the offensive player prior to the offensive shooting motion. As the offensive player drives to the basket, they initiate contact to the torso of the defender not getting the head and shoulders past thus resulting in an offensive foul.
In this play, the defender attempts to establish legal guarding position and does a great job of remaining vertical but is still moving forward when the offensive player begins their shooting motion. Thus legal guarding position in not obtained and by rule a blocking foul is called.
In this play, the offensive player is in the lane but does not violate the NFHS three-second rule. According to NFHS rules, a player may remain in the lane for up to three consecutive seconds unless they are in the process of leaving or actively attempting to score. Here, the player either resets the count by stepping out of the lane briefly or is making a continuous offensive move toward the basket. Since the player is engaged in legal activity that suspends the three-second count, there is no violation on the play.
In this play, the offensive player establishes their right foot as the pivot foot after gaining control of the ball. The player then steps with their left foot, but before beginning a dribble, the right foot (pivot foot) returns to the floor. Under NFHS Rule 4-44, once the pivot foot is lifted, it cannot return to the floor before the ball is passed or shot. Since the player places their pivot foot back on the ground before initiating a pass or shot, this is a traveling violation.
You may also see our poster in a gym near you !