GATE Program

Gifted and Talented Education

Our VVUSD GATE program provides support to students who require an environment which encourages extremely high levels of abstract thinking, motivation, interest, achievement, peer interaction, and an accelerated pace of learning. Acceptance is based on eligibility criteria determined by our district.

Program Criteria

GATE Identification One-pager

GATE Assessment Info

Program Options:

  • Elementary
    • Students identified GATE participate in a cluster program at their school.
  • Secondary
    • Students identified GATE receive after school enrichment opportunities
    • Jr. Scholars/Honors/AP classes/IB Program

GATE Resources

A non-profit organization of teachers, administrators, parents, and professionals interested in promoting gifted education in California.

A non-profit organization of teachers, administrators, parents, and professionals interested in promoting gifted education on a national level.

Fosters education and research to support the unique social and emotional needs of gifted individuals.

A division of the Council for Exceptional Children. Promotes scholarly research, advocacy, and professional development.

A worldwide network of educators, scholars, researchers, parents, educational institutions, and others interested in research and information on the gifted.

Contact Us for More Information

Jessica Warren: TOSA-MTSS/AVID

951-940-6100 ext. 10419

jwarren@valverde.edu

Site GATE Facilitators

Avalon ES: Tammy Roughton troughton@valverde.edu

Columbia ES: Linda Brandt lbrandt@valverde.edu

Lasselle ES: Heather Brett hbrett@valverd.edu

Manuel L. Real ES: Christine Tabor ctabor@valverde.edu

Mary McLeod Bethune ES: Erin Simmons esimmons@valverde.edu

May Ranch ES: Kelli Hague-Shaw khague-shaw@valverde.edu

Mead Valley ES: Jewel Mooneyham jmooneyham@valverde.edu

Rainbow Ridge ES: Shannon Todd stodd@valverde.edu





Sierra Vista ES: Christi Longoria clongoria@valverde.edu

Triple Crown ES: Steve Kimble skimble@valverde.edu

Val Verde ES: Sherry Mellor smellor@valverde.edu

Victoriano ES: Doug Woods dwoods@valverde.edu

Lakeside MS: Lisa Tiernan ltiernan@valverde.edu

March MS: Kate Burns kburns@valverde.edu

Tomas Rivera MS: Stephen Blomberg sblomberg@valverde.edu

Vista Verde MS: Laurel Lowell llowell@valverde.edu

Laura Schoenfelder lschoenfelder@valverde.edu

975 West Morgan Street

Perris, CA 92571