Athletics Links

USD 299 Performing Arts Recognized by KSHSAA

Sylvan-Lucas Unified High School has been chosen as one of 36 high schools in Kansas to receive recognition as a 2021 Performing Arts School of Excellence by the Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA).

A selection committee was formed from the following associations: Kansas Music Educators Association (KMEA), Kansas Speech Communication Association (KSCA) and the Kansas Thespians. Leaders from these three associations along with the KSHSAA staff collaborated to discuss numerous high schools that scored exceptionally high in debate, speech, music and theater during the 2020-21 school year. The committee and the KSHSAA chose one winner, five finalists and 30 commended schools from across our great state. All 36 schools will be recognized with a certificate from the KSHSAA in September.

Winner: Pittsburg High School

Finalists: Lawrence-Free State High School, McPherson High School, Olathe East High School, Paola High School, Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege High School

Commended: De Soto High School, Ellinwood High School, Fort Scott High School, Garden City High School, Greensburg-Kiowa County High School, Kansas City-Sumner Academy, Lansing High School, Lawrence High School, Louisburg High School, Maize High School, Moundridge High School, Norton Community High School, Olathe South High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park-Blue Valley Southwest High School, Phillipsburg High School, RosaliaFlinthills High School, Salina-Sacred Heart High School, Salina-South High School, Silver Lake High School, St. George-Rock Creek High School, Sterling High School, Sylvan-Lucas Unified High School, Tecumseh-Shawnee Heights High School, Tonganoxie High School, Topeka-Hayden High School, Topeka-Washburn Rural High School, WichitaCollegiate High School “The KSHSAA made a commitment to our schools in 2018 to annually recognize outstanding performing arts schools in the State of Kansas. This award is a wonderful testimony to our schools’ professionalism and efforts with our amazing students. These schools really stepped up and made the most of our virtual championships and festivals,” said Craig Manteuffel, KSHSAA. “It is very difficult to thrive in all categories of the performing arts and we are so proud to honor these 36 schools in 2021-22.”

September's Wellness Tip

Stay Hydrated

We all know how easy it is to grab another can of soda or cup of coffee instead of another glass of water. With the wide array of beverages available these days, water always seems like the boring option. Your body relies on water to perform a laundry list of vital tasks, including supporting your brain function, helping circulate blood throughout your body and regulating your body temperature. Since you're constantly losing water throughout the day as you breathe, sweat and use the restroom, it's critical that you replace the water you lose. Here are tips for staying hydrated:

● Know how much water you need to consume every day

● Make drinking a glass of water part of your normal routine

● Carry a water bottle

● Try unsweetened sparkling water or flavor your water by adding fresh fruits, vegetables and herbs

● Track your water intake using an app

● Choose hydrating snacks, such as cucumbers, celery, strawberries or watermelon

● Distribute your water intake throughout the day (playing catch up at the end of the day doesn't negate the fact that you were dehydrated all day)

School Lunch News


Parents as Teachers News

PAT Flyer.pdf

Congratulations 2021 Graduates!

FUNDRAISERS short one.docx

USD 299 Mission Statement

The Mission of Sylvan-Lucas Unified Schools is to provide students with a safe atmosphere, balanced curriculum, and a progressive education that will help the students become active, well-educated and responsible citizens. Utilizing technology, communications, leadership and community involvement; the staff will challenge students to reach their fullest potential and prepare them for post-secondary education or entry into the workforce.

Sylvan-Lucas Unified School District has made a commitment to technological advancements so that staff and students will be equipped to work successfully in our complex world in the future.

USD 299 Sylvan-Lucas Unified Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability or age in its programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies:

Jude Stecklein, Superintendent of Schools - District Compliance Officer

504 W. 4th Street, Sylvan Grove, KS 67481 / (785)526-7175