13th Conference of the Association for Linguistic Typology

Pavia (Italy), 4-6 September 2019

The 13th Conference of the Association for Linguistic Typology will be held at the University of Pavia, Italy, on 4-6 September (Wednesday-Friday) 2019.

This event is supported by the Italian Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR): "Dipartimenti di Eccellenza Program (2018–2022)” - Dept. of Humanities, University of Pavia.

Last minute program changes

  • Anna POMPEI cancelled (5 September, 14:30-15:00, Aula Bottigella)
  • Claude HAGÈGE moved to 4 September 2019, 18:00-18:30, Aula L4
  • Pier Marco BERTINETTO et al. moved to 5 September, 15:00-15:30, Aula Bottigella
  • Closing of the theme session "A cross-linguistic perspective on the role of the lexicon in actionalit" anticipated to 5 September, 14:30-15:00, Aula Bottigella

Adjacent events


  • Balthasar Bickel (University of Zurich), Linguistic biases in biological perspective
  • Holger Diessel (University of Jena), The Grammar Network: How linguistic structure is shaped by language use
  • Nicholas R. Evans (Australian National University, Canberra/ ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language), The grammar of others: social cognition and linguistic diversity
  • Martin Haspelmath (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena/ Leipzig University), Some universals of grammar with particular reference to coding asymmetries
  • Sabine Stoll (University of Zurich), Language development: uniformity in diversity?

Local Organizing Committee

  • Silvia LURAGHI,
  • Elisa ROMA,
  • Chiara ZANCHI,

Program Committee

Willem F. H. Adelaar (University of Leiden), Peter Arkadiev (Institute of Slavic Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences), Gilles Authier (École pratique des hautes études, Paris), Isabelle Bril (CNRS-LACITO, Paris), Lea Brown (SUNY University at Buffalo), Michela Cennamo (University of Napoli "Federico II"), Denis Creissels (University of Lyon), Sonia Cristofaro (University of Pavia), Gréte Dalmi (Budapest University of Technology), Michael Daniel (Higher School of Economics, Moscow), Dan Dediu (Laboratoire Dynamique Du Langage/Université Lumière Lyon 2), Holger Dießel (University of Jena), Diana Forker (University of Bamberg), Alex François (CNRS–LaTTiCe), Volker Gast (University of Jena), Spike Gildea (University of Oregon), Nicola Grandi (University of Bologna), Eitan Grossman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Corinna Handschuh (University of Regensburg), Lars Hellan (Norwegian University of Science and Technology), Johannes Helmbrecht (University of Regensburg), Larry Hyman (University of California, Berkeley), Dmitry Idiatov (CNRS-LLACAN, Villejuif Cedex, Paris), Guglielmo Inglese (University of Pavia), Guillaume Jacques (CNRS-CRLAO), Katarzyna Janic (University of Leipzig), Carmen Jany (California State University, San Bernardino), Christa Kilian-Hatz (Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University of Frankfurt), Seppo Kittilä (University of Helsinki), Olga Krasnoukhova (University of Antwerp), Aimée Lahaussois (Paris Diderot University), Dana Louagie (University of Leuven), Silvia Luraghi (University of Pavia), Timur Maisak (Institute of Linguistics & Higher School of Economics, Moscow), Stefano Manfredi (CNRS, Villejuif Cedex, Paris), Vanhove Martine (CNRS-LLACAN), Simone Mattiola (University of Bologna), Caterina Mauri (University of Bologna), Bradley McDonnell (University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa), Amina Mettouchi (LLACAN - CNRS), Matti Miestamo (University of Helsinki), Johanna Nichols (University of California, Berkeley), Tatiana Nikitina (CNRS-LLACAN), Silva M. Nurmio (University of Helsinki), Brigitte Pakendorf (CNRS), Bill Palmer (University of Newcastle), Bastian Persohn (University of Hamburg), Nicolas Quint (CNRS-LLACAN), Davide Ricca (University of Turin), Keren Rice (University of Toronto), Elisa Roma (University of Pavia), Jorge Emilio Rosés Labrada (University of Alberta), Iker Salaberri (Public University of Navarre), Merja Salo (University of Helsinki), Andrea Sansò (University of Insubria), Eva Schultze-Berndt (University of Manchester), Ilja Seržant (University of Leipzig), Ksenia Shagal (University of Helsinki), Andrey Shluinsky (Russian Academy of Sciences), Stef Spronck (University of Helsinki), Mario Squartini (University of Turin), Anna Maria Thornton (University of L'Aquila), Yvonne Treis (CNRS-LLACAN), Mark Van de Velde (CNRS-LLACAN), Jean-Christophe Verstraete (University of Leuven), Ljuba Veselinova (Stockholm University), Carlotta Viti (University of Zurich), Bernhard Wälchli (Stockholm University), Alena Witzlack-Makarevich (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Chiara Zanchi (University of Pavia)


  • 31 August 2019: deadline to register for the social dinner
  • 2 September 2019: Workshop on "Partitive cases, pronouns and determiners: diachrony and variation"
  • 3 September 2019: teach-ins
  • 4-6 September 2019: ALT2019
  • 9-12 September 2019: "Language Universals and Language Diversity in an Evolutionary Perspective" (Lake Como School of Advanced Studies)

Attendee Conduct

The ALT Executive Committee asks all attendees of the 13th Meeting of the Association for Linguistic Typology to respect the Code of Ethics of the host of the meeting, the University of Pavia, by following those elements of its Code that are most applicable to academic visitors to the university. These include, in particular:

  • Article 1: Basic Principles
  • Article 7: Rejection of any form of discrimination
  • Article 8: Abuses, nuisances and harassment of a sexual nature
  • Article 10: Moral harassment and bullying

The official version of the Code (in Italian) can be found at, and an English translation can be found at

Attendees with any concerns related to the conduct of individuals at the meeting should feel free to report them to any member of the Local Organizing Committee, Sonia Cristofaro, Silvia Luraghi, Elisa Roma, and Chiara Zanchi, or any of the following members of the ALT Executive Committee: Mark Dingemanse, Jeff Good, Masha Koptjevskaja Tamm, Felicity Meakins, Rachel Nordlinger, and Ljuba Veselinova.