UMassBrutUMass Dartmouth + UMass Amherst

UMass Amherst and UMass Dartmouth have joined forces to create UMassBrut, a collaborative advocacy group of faculty members, staff, students and interested parties dedicated to celebrating, preserving, and re-imagining our mid-century Brutalist public architecture. Organizers include faculty members from the arts, humanities, architecture, and engineering disciplines and staff members from campus planning, capital projects, funding, marketing departments, as well as university curators, gallery directors, and librarians working alongside undergraduate and graduate students from both campuses.


Our mission is to raise awareness of the relevance and international significance of Brutalist architectural heritage. To achieve this goal, UMassBrut is developing a series of multi-year initiatives combining interdisciplinary events, social media, and public outreach campaigns. These activities will promote the importance of these architectural icons and highlight the critical need to preserve them now and for future generations.


Executive Board

  • Rose Mary Botti-Salitsky, PhD, Interior Architecture and Design, Associate Professor , UMass Dartmouth

  • Allison Cywin, Librarian, UMass Dartmouth

  • Anna Dempsey, PhD, Art History, Professor, UMass Dartmouth

  • Marla Miller, PhD, Public History, Professor, UMass Amherst

  • Stephanie McGoldrick, Interior Architecture and Design, Lecturer, UMass Dartmouth

  • Lincoln Nemetz-Carlson, PhD, Graduate Researcher, UMass Amherst

  • Ludmilla Pavlova-Gillham, Senior Campus Planner, UMass Amherst

  • Timothy Rohan, PhD, Professor, History of Art and Architecture, UMass Amherst

  • Shelby Schrank, Intern Architect/Project Designer, Mills + Schnoering Architects & UMass Amherst Alumna

  • Richard Yeager, Director of Campus Planning, UMass Amherst

UMass Think Tank

  • Christina Bowen, Capital Projects Manager, UMass Dartmouth

  • Michelle Bowers, Art and Design, Associate Professor, UMass Dartmouth

  • Rosemarie Cruz, Director of Operations, Fine Arts Center, UMass Amherst

  • Jan Fairbairn, Art and Design, Lecturer, UMass Dartmouth

  • Carl Fiocchi, Building Construction Technology Lecturer, UMass Amherst

  • Christopher Fruean, Director Business Development, UMass Amherst

  • Benjamin Jones, Director of Corporate Engagement & Institutional Partnerships, UMass Dartmouth

  • Lara Henderson, Art and Design, Lecturer, UMass Dartmouth

  • Viera Levitt, Art Gallery Director, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

  • Margaret Vickery, History of Art and Architecture Lecturer, UMass Amherst

  • Eldra Dominique Walker, Architecture Assistant Professor, UMass Amherst