About Washington State Association of Parliamentarians

The Washington State Association of Parliamentarians (WSAP) was chartered on July 18, 1961 as a constituent division of the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP). NAP, organized in 1930, is the oldest and largest professional non-profit association of parliamentarians in the world. NAP is divided into eight districts; WSAP is in District 7.

The primary goals of NAP and WSAP are to teach, promote, and disseminate the philosophy and principles underlying the rules of deliberative assemblies. The NAP website provides some basics of parliamentary procedure.

WSAP provides educational workshops in parliamentary procedure open to the public at its annual meeting in April and at its mid-year board meeting. Additional workshops may also be scheduled. See our event calendar for a list of upcoming workshops.

Board of Directors

WSAP officers are elected at the annual meeting in April. Officers for 2021-2023 are:

Unit representatives on the board of directors, for the same term:

    • EastSide Parliamentary Law Unit - Kevin Connelly, PRP, email

    • Evergreen Research Parliamentary Law Unit - Jean Lin, email

    • Inland Northwest Parliamentary Law Unit - Sean Schilke, email

    • Point of Order Parliamentary Law Unit - Paul McClintock, PRP, email

Member-at-large representative on the board of directors, for the same term:

    • MAL representative - Beverly Przybylski, PRP, email

Other Leaders

Positions for the same term:

    • Parliamentarian - Matt Schafer, PRP, parliamentarian

    • Vice Parliamentarian - Joshua Schreck RP

    • Archivist - Lynda Schram

    • Annual Meeting Coordinator - Paul McClintock, PRP, meetings

    • Newsletter Editor - Teresa Addison, newsletter

    • Webmaster - Paul McClintock, PRP, webmaster

    • Yearbook Editor - Matt Schafer, PRP, yearbook

Standing Committee chairmen for the same term:

Special Committee chairmen for the same term:

    • Nominating - to be elected at 2022 annual meeting, nominating

Delegates to the 2021 NAP Convention:

    • ---Members-at-Large---

    • Aaron Taggert, PRP

    • Ann McCartney, PRP

    • Teresa Addison

    • Joshua Schreck, RP

    • Matt Schafer, PRP

    • -

    • -

    • ---Other Members---

    • John Strander

    • Lynda Schram

    • John Berg, PRP

    • Paul McClintock, PRP

  • Irene Carter, RP

  • -

How to Join WSAP

Any member of NAP may join WSAP. To join NAP, one must demonstrate a basic knowledge of parliamentary procedure. The standard way this is done is by passing a membership examination administered by NAP. The exam consists of 100 questions drawn from a bank of 300 published questions, downloadable from the NAP website.

Any individual preparing for NAP membership may join WSAP as a provisional member, with the right to attend WSAP meetings and participate in debate, but not vote. Provisional members of WSAP may or may not also be provisional members of a local NAP unit affiliated with WSAP. Prospective provisional members may contact the WSAP Treasurer for directions on payment of dues.

NAP members who are primary members of another constituent association of NAP may join WSAP as an affiliate member. Contact the WSAP Treasurer for directions on payment of dues.

A member achieving the Registered Parliamentarian (RP) designation does so by demonstrating a more thorough knowledge of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised by passing the 5-part registration examination.

An RP achieving the Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP) designation does so by demonstrating an ability to preside, serve as a meeting parliamentarian, and teach parliamentary procedure at a two-day Professional Qualifying Course.

Our Governing Documents

The Bylaws contain our basic organization and structure.

The Standing Rules contain more detailed financial policies, committee duties, and other operating procedures.

The Special Rules of Order for Membership Meetings contain rules akin to convention standing rules.

The Special Rules of Order for Board and Committee Meetings contain board & committee meeting rules.

Contact Us

    • President: Aaron Taggert, PRP, president

    • Mailing address: WSAP President Aaron Taggert,1325 NE 6th Ave., Oak Harbor, WA 98277, 424-527-5339

    • Webmaster: Paul McClintock PRP, Weldon Merritt PRP, Aaron Taggert PRP, webmaster

    • Units: See the Units web page

    • Need parliamentary help? Search the NAP list for Professional Registered Parliamentarians (Search for "Washington"; not "WA")