This committee is concerned with the development and evaluation of forgiving highway roadsides through countermeasures, safety hardware, and features and practices that will reduce the number and severity of roadway departure crashes and optimize the safety benefit to the traveling public.

Committee Leadership

Chair – John Donahue – Oregon State DOT

Subcommittee Chairs

    Dipan Bose (World Bank)

Secretary – Mark Ayton (Safe Roads R&D, Inc.)

Research Needs Coordinator – Luke Riexinger (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety) 

Communications Coordinator – Fadi Tahan (George Mason University)