Theatre Resources: blogs/reviews, auditions, theatrical agents, ticketing agencies+

Here are a few of the reviewers i have been reading lately. If you know of more regular theatre reviewers please email tangneyniall (@) gmail.com and i will try to make this a comprehensive list for Australia, not just Sydney. 


Theatre Bloggers/Reviewers

'Perspectives on Theatre Criticism' a 
Keynote speech  by USA Playwright, Lauren Gunderson (April 4, 2014)

Plays To See - International Theatre Reviews  http://playstosee.com/#
Suzy Goes See http://suzygoessee.com/ prolific Sydney-based writer/reviewer
Jason Blake http://eightnightsaweek.blogspot.com/ Sydney Morning Herald reviewer
Rebecca Caton / TheatReView Sydney http://theatreviewsyd.tumblr.com/
Judith Greenaway / 'Notes on Set, Lighting and Sound of current live theatre events in Sydney' http://sydneylivetheatretechnicalnotes.blogspot.com.au 
Chris Hook http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/entertainment/arts Daily Telegraph Arts coverage
Kevin Jackson's Theatre Diary http://kjtheatrereviews.blogspot.com/ Kevin Jackson taught acting at NIDA for 20 years until 2011.
Deborah Jones http://deborahjones.me/ Deborah Jones writes on theatre, including dance theatre. musical theatre and opera
Jo Litson - Scene and Heard (also writes for the Sunday Telegraph)  http://jolitson.com/
Various writers at Time Out  http://www.au.timeout.com/sydney/theatre
Joy Minter - The Buzz From Sydney http://www.thebuzzfromsydney.com/ a new-ish blog about theatre and exhibitions
Syke On Stage (Brad Syke) https://www.facebook.com/sykeonstage
Lisa Thatcher http://lisathatcher.wordpress.com/ (Sometimes writes on theatre)
Dinner And A Show  http://dinnerandshowblog.wordpress.com/  A new (Jan 2013) blog by Sydney Abba and Nathan Finger 
Spell Of Waking Hours Blog http://thespellofwakinghours.blogspot.com.au/ (by an anonymous theatre addict & dramaturg)
Alison Croggon's Theatre Notes http://theatrenotes.blogspot.com/ (archived)
Guerrilla Semiotics http://guerrillasemiotics.com/
Cameron Woodhead - Behind the Critical Curtain http://cameronwoodhead.com/
Spark Online  http://sparkonline.com.au/
Red Stitch Actors Centre blog 
http://redstitchactors.tumblr.com/
Dione Joseph ; Heading In A Different Direction http://dionejoseph.wordpress.com/
Sometimes Melbourne by Anne-Marie http://sometimesmelbourne.blogspot.com.au/
The Morning After: Performing Arts In Australia / by Chris Boyd http://chrisboyd.blogspot.com.au/
Talking Pointes / by Jordan Beth Vincent http://talkingpointes.blogspot.com.au/
Jane Howard http://noplain.wordpress.com/ No Plain Jane
Festival freak / by Pete Muller http://ff.moobaa.com/
Marginalia / by Ben Brooker http://marginalia-bb.blogspot.com.au/
Carving In Snow / David Berthold http://carveinsnow.blogspot.com.au/
XS Entertain Me blog (various reviewers) http://xsentertainme.wordpress.com/
Arts reviews from the West Australian newspaper http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/entertainment/arts/reviews/
Portal for Australian Theatre ; Reviews http://www.theatre.asn.au/forums/theatre_reviews_0
Scissors Paper Pen blog http://scissorspaperpen.wordpress.com/ the blog of this Canberra literary collective includes theatre reviews.

The Saturday Paper - Culture/Theatre Section http://www.thesaturdaypaper.com.au/culture/theatre
Stage Milk (Australian based acting blog and theatre review site) http://www.stagemilk.com
Aussie Theatre (excellent theatre site with lots of features)  http://www.aussietheatre.com.au
Theatre People (an excellent theatre site with stories and interviews and reviews) http://theatrepeople.com.au/reviews 
Stage Whispers (another great theatre site with lots of features)  http://www.stagewhispers.com.au/reviews
Australian Stage (national theatre site with a WHAT"S ON section for each city) http://www.australianstage.com.au 
The Australian Newspaper Arts Reviews (incl. John McCallum ) http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/arts/reviews

New Zealand Theatre reviews http://www.theatreview.org.nz/ New Zealand
Irish Theatre Magazine Reviews http://www.irishtheatremagazine.ie/Reviews/Current.aspx Ireland
The Guardian Newspaper http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/theatre+tone/reviews United Kingdom
The Arts Desk ; Theatre http://www.theartsdesk.com/theatre United Kingdom
Charles Spencer  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/culturecritics/charlesspencer/ ( British Daily Telegraph)
Dominic Cavendish  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/culturecritics/dominiccavendish/ (Daily Telegraph U.K.)
AndrewAndrew Youtube Channel /   http://www.youtube.com/user/AndrewAndrewTubeTube /  theatre reviews - New York City USA
 Australian theatre site "TheatrePeople"'s Youtube Channel. http://www.youtube.com/user/theatrepeopletube?feature=autoshare
Random Link http://www.liveperformance.com.au/halloffame/index.htm The Australian Live Performance Hall of Fame

Facebook Pages & Groups for people involved in theatre in Sydney, Australia

Theatre Network NSW -
Theatre Network NSW (TNN) is a new service organisation dedicated to strengthening and enriching the theatre sector in NSW.
https://www.facebook.com/theatrenetworknsw/
Women in Theatre & Screen - Australia: An action group for gender parity and gender diversity in the Australian performing arts industry.
https://www.facebook.com/witsaus/
Sydney Actor - Originally an email list founded August 2000, SydneyActor continues to live on on Facebook as way for local filmmakers and actors to connect and talk about anything relating to their craft and projects and perhaps end up working together. Casting notices are encouraged and if you are promoting a local course, local service, local film screening, international film competition, or play please limit to one post. Discounts, added incentives and complimentary tickets for SydneyActor members is encouraged. Please note that Actors using this as a platform for continual self-promotion beyond an introduction may result in you being removed and banned. Sharing good news amongst the community is fine!
https://www.facebook.com/groups/5748561204/
Sydney Costume FB Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/324126631012524/

The Platform - Sydney theatre discussion group
a discussion group for people involved in Sydney theatre to talk about Sydney theatre. Please note: this is not a place to post advertising, or notices for shows and workshops. Debate is welcome, but there will be zero tolerance shown towards rudeness and hostility. Offensive and inappropriate posts will be removed along with the user.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1711267675776076/
Theatre Links in the West - a networking group for theatre artists based in Western Sydney
https://www.facebook.com/groups/theatrelinks/
Beg, Borrow & Steal - Sydney Theatre Community Noticeboard - A community noticeboard for Sydney theatremakers to swap, give away, offer, lend and request items! Need an unusual prop for your upcoming production? Looking for a particular costume? Or are you short some technical equipment? Perhaps you're wrapping a show and need to off-load some furniture from your set? Or maybe you have a free rehearsal space to offer? This is the place.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1594998427407841/
Sydney Theatre Venues - venue news A forum to discuss and share information about theatre venues in Sydney.
https://www.facebook.com/sydneytheatrevenues/
The Five Minute Call
  - 'The Five' is for people who have worked in the professional arts industry i.e.. theatre, film, tv, dance, vocalists etc... Please use this group as an arts community. Please NO SELF PROMOTION.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/105069246317771/
Aussie Actors Marketplace  - A marketplace for Accommodation, Stuff for Sale and Travel. This group is for actors who regularly travel interstate and need cheap, short-term accommodation.. ** No promo (unless offering a special deal/discount) or crowd-funding posts please. If you're uncertain, contact administrator first **

https://www.facebook.com/groups/actorsmarketplace/
Australian Arts Opportunities - For all performing artists to share and keep up to date with the latest auditions and opportunities happening around Australia, in all art forms.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ausartsopps/?fref=nf
The Australian Ministry of Theatre
The Australian Ministry of Theatre is committed to fostering and supporting the talents and professional development of individual theatre practitioners and their companies within the Australian arts sector. As a company, we aim to promote a fair and equitable community environment where artists and companies are encouraged to engage, interact and collaborate professionally. Our purpose is to foster an environment that promotes and provides momentum for the ongoing development of creativity and excellence in theatre production.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/18704932614/?fref=nf

Auditions Links

http://www.stagewhispers.com.au/auditions Stage Whispers Auditions page
http://www.theatrepeople.com.au/auditions TheatrePeople Auditions page 
https://www.facebook.com/Audition.Australia Auditions and Casting Calls (Australia)
http://justauditions.com/ Just Auditions website
http://jobs.australianstage.com.au/jobs/auditions/ Australian Stage Auditions page
http://theatrenow.com.au/opportunities-noticeboard/ Theatre Now Opportunites & Auditions page
http://theatrenow.com.au/take-note/ Theatre Now's 'Take Note' page

If you know of more useful auditions sites, please send email to: tangneyniall (@) gmail.com   
------------------------------------------------------
See also:

Bell Shakespeare Jobs page
See http://www.bellshakespeare.com.au/about/jobs

Griffin Theatre wants to see your show!

On the Griffin Theatre website it says “If you have a show on around town that you would like us to see (you might have written it, be directing it, be acting in it, or designed something on it), please invite us through info @ griffintheatre.com.au . ”
Read here: http://www.griffintheatre.com.au/development/artist-access/

Information for actors on the Belvoir St Theatre website

http://belvoir.com.au/for-artists/actors/

Invite a Sydney Theatre Company representative to see your show:

http://www.sydneytheatre.com.au/about/information-for-artists/inviting-us-to-see-your-show.aspx


Professional Theatre Publicists in Sydney

(alphabetical list of  Sydney-based theatre publicists appearing in the top results on Google, plus others..)


Amanda Buckworth Publicity http://www.abpublicity.com.au/
karpublicity (Kar Chalmers) https://twitter.com/karpublicity  (Currently publicist at ATYP Theatre)
Emma Collison Publicity
http://emmacollison.com/about/ or  https://twitter.com/EmmaCollison
Insight Communications http://www.insightcommunications.net.au/about_whatwedo.html (Australia-wide)
Emma Jones Publicist http://www.emmajjones.com.au/ or https://twitter.com/EmmaJPublicist
Stephanie Langridge https://twitter.com/fruitsridge
Georgia McKay https://twitter.com/georgia_m_mckay (Currently working at Saddler Wells in London, UK.)
Mollison Communications http://www.mollison.com.au/aboutus/aboutus.html Melbourne & Sydney
IP Publicity (Ian Phipps) http://www.ippublicity.com.au/  Potts Point
Di Rolle Publicity http://www.dirolle.com/about/
Sirmai Arts Marketing
http://www.sirmai.com.au/
Surge Ahead PR http://www.surgeaheadpr.com.au

Theatrical Agents

7 Flavours www.7flavours.com / Kogarah NSW
Agent M www.agentm.com.au / Bondi Beach NSW
Agnes Bruck email: agnes @ murphyslawyers.com.au  / Paddington NSW
Arts Management http://www.artsmanagement.com.au/ / Surry Hills NSW
Asia Look Model & Talent Management Agency www.asialook.com.au / Willoughby NSW
Bedford & Pearce Management www.bedfordpearce.com.au  / Katoomba NSW
Blah Blah Blah www.blahblahblah.com.au / Manly NSW
Brent Street Agency www.brentstreet.com.au / Moore Park, NSW
Cameron's Management www.cameronsmanagement.com.au  / Surry Hills NSW
Carolyn White Management www.carolynwhitemanagement.com.au  / Crows Nest NSW
Chadwick Models www.chadwickmodels.com  / Surry Hills NSW
Coffee Coloured Characters http://www.coffeecolouredcharacters.com.au/ / Arncliffe NSW
Creative Representation www.creativerep.com.au / Redfern  NSW
David Spicer Productions http://www.davidspicer.com.au/
Detour Management www.detourmanagement.com / Double Bay NSW
Ego Management www.egomanagement.com.au / Woolloomooloo NSW
EM Voices www.emvoices.com.au / Bondi Junction NSW
Entertainment Management (EM) http://www.entertainmentmanagement.com / Potts Point
Encompass Junior www.encompassjunior.com.au / Martin Place NSW
Encompass Management www.encompass.com.au / Martin Place, NSW
The Extras Agency www.extras.com.au / Bathurst St, Sydney
Gault Management www.gaultmanagement.com.au / Surry Hills NSW
Gina Stoj Management www.ginastoj.com  / Lambton Gardens NSW
Grayboy The Agency www.grayboyentertainment.com / Surry Hills NSW
The Green Room www.the-green-room.com.au  / Ashfield NSW
Harbour Street Management http://www.harbourstreet.com.au Marrickville NSW
Harry M Miller Group www.harrymmiller.com.au / Moore Park NSW
HLA Management  www.hlamgt.com.au / Redfern NSW
International Casting Service and Associates www.icsassoc.com.au/ Darlinghurst NSW
Jacqui's Creative Management  jcm_agency@bigpond.com / La Perouse NSW
James Laurie Management www.jameslaurie.com or sydney@jameslaurie.com 
Janice Breen Agency www.janicebreen.com / Earlwood NSW
Joan Gibson Agency www.joangibsonagency.com.au North Bondi NSW
Joolee Eadie Theatrical Agency www.thejooleeeadieagency.com.au Bondi Junction NSW
June Reilly Management junerm@bigpond.com Double Bay NSW
Katie Gompertz Management / Talent Networks http://www.katiegompertz.com/
Keane Kids Management www.keanekids.com Terrey Hills NSW
Kermond Management www.kermond.com.au Darlinghurst NSW
Kids in the Biz  www.kermond.com.au Darlinghurst NSW
Kubler Auckland Management www.kublerauckland.com Double Bay NSW
La Rocca Management http://www.larocca.com.au/ 
Lee Leslie Management Pty Ltd http://www.leeleslie.com/
Linsten Morris Management http://www.linstenmorris.com/ Newtown NSW
Lisa Mann Creative Management (LMCM) http://www.lmcm.com.au
Mark Morrissey and Asssociates http://www.markmorrissey.com.au Roseberry NSW
Marquee Management http://www.marqueemgt.com.au Paddington NSW
Matrics Management http://www.matricsmanagement.com Bondi Beach NSW
MCTV Model and Talent Management http://www.mctv.com.au Sydney CBD NSW
Meissner Management http://www.meissnermanagement.com.au Paddington NSW
Misc Pty Ltd http://www.thisismisc.com Potts Point NSW
Mollison Keightley Management http://www.mollisonkeightley.com
Nicky Gluyas Management http://www.nickygluyas.com.au Avalon NSW
Phoenix Actors http://www.phoenixactors.com.au/ Dee Why NSW
Q Talent http://www.qtalent.com.au Sydney NSW
Rebekah Biasi Management http://www.rbmartists.com
RGM Artist Group Pty Ltd http://www.rgm.com.au
RMK Voice Productions http://www.rmk.com.au
Rolland Management helenrolland@bigpond.com Rozelle NSW
Rosey's Model and Management & Castings http://www.roseystalent.com.au and http://www.roseys.com.au
Shanahan Management http://www.shanahans.com.au Surry Hills NSW
Sherin Rickards Management http://www.sherinrickards.com
Sophie Jermyn Management http://www.sjmanagement.com.au Bondi Beach NSW
Smith & Jones Management http://www.smithandjonesmgt.com.au
Stacey Testro International http://www.sti.com.au Moore Park NSW
Studio J. Pty Ltd http://www.studioj.com.au 
Sue Barnett and Associates Pty Ltd http://www.suebarnett.net
Sydney Creative Management http://sydneycm.com/home/
Sydney Talent Company http://www.sydneytalentco.com.au/ 
Talent Networks / Katie Gompertz Management http://www.katiegompertz.com/
Therese Clifford Management http://www.tcmagency.com.au/
Voom Management http://www.voom.net.au Neutral Bay NSW
Warehouse 16 Actors http://www.warehouse16.com.au Roseberry NSW
Who Dares http://www.whodares.com.au Leichardt NSW
Williamson Management http://www.williamsonmgt.com
Young Australia Workshop http://www.youngaus.com.au

Ticketing Agencies used by theatres in Sydney & Australia

Try Booking http://www.trybooking.com
SeatAdvisor http://www.seatadvisor.com.au/
Eventbrite http://www.eventbrite.com.au
I Wanna Ticket: http://iwannaticket.com.au/
BookifyApp https://bookifyapp.com/
Floktu http://floktu.com/howitworks
Ticketek http://premier.ticketek.com.au/
Ticketmaster http://www.ticketmaster.com.au/
Moshtix http://www.moshtix.com.au/v2/
Greentix http://inticketing.greentix.com.au/index.php
OuTix https://www.outix.com.au/sales/
Yapsody https://www.yapsody.com/?utm_source=ytt&utm_medium=ytt&utm_campaign=ytt
Stickytickets https://www.stickytickets.com.au/
Tickets4Me http://www.tickets4me.com.au/
TicketeBoo http://www.ticketebo.com.au
Ticketbooth http://www.ticketbooth.com.au/
Ticketbook http://www.ticketbook.com.au
Tickethost http://www.tickethost.com.au/
TicketTailor http://www.tickettailor.com/
Ticketwombat http://www.ticketwombat.com/ (helps promote show via ticket give-aways)
PatronBase http://www.patronbase.com/info/
Oz-Tix http://www.oztix.com.au/
Foxtix https://www.foxtix.com.au/

Have anything to add to this page ? Please email : tangneyniall (@) gmail.com

Comments