Call for Papers


19th International Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication Complexity
June 30 - July 2, Reykjavík, Iceland Important dates
Submission deadline EXTENDED: Sunday March 4, 2012 (09:00 GMT)
Author notification: 31 March, 2012
Camera-ready submission: 21 April, 2012
Conference dates: 30 June - 2 July, 2012

Theme SIROCCO is devoted to the study of communication and knowledge in multi-processor systems from both the qualitative and quantitative viewpoints. Special emphasis is given to innovative approaches and fundamental understanding, in addition to efforts to optimize current designs. Conference SIROCCO has a tradition of interesting and productive scientific meetings in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, attracting leading researchers in a variety of fields in which communication and knowledge play a significant role. This year, SIROCCO is held in Reykjavík, Iceland. Scope Original papers are solicited from all areas of study of local structural knowledge and global communication and computational complexities. Among the typical areas are distributed computing, communication networks, game theory, parallel computing, social networks, mobile computing (including autonomous robots), peer to peer systems, communication complexity, fault tolerant graph theories, and randomized/probabilistic issues in networks. Keeping up with the tradition of SIROCCO, new areas are always welcome. SIROCCO Award The Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing is awarded annually in the SIROCCO conference to recognize individuals whose research contributions had a major impact on the understanding of the relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized computing. Only authors of papers that were published in SIROCCO are eligible to receive the award. More details are available in the SIROCCO 2012 web site. Invited talks To be announced. Submission Full papers are to be submitted electronically using the EasyChair server. The link is Submission guidelines are available in the conference web page. Authors are invited to submit their work in one of the three acceptable formats: novel research contributions, position papers, and surveys. Original research papers must contain results that have not previously appeared and have not been concurrently submitted to a journal or conference with published proceedings. In all cases, any partial overlap with any published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. Submissions are limited to 12 single-column pages on letter/A4-size paper (using at least 11 point font, 1 inch margins, standard line spacing). This includes figures, but excludes references and an optional appendix (to be read at the program committee's discretion). Publication
As in previous years, the proceedings of SIROCCO 2012 will be published by
Springer-Verlag as a volume of the LNCS series. Information for LNCS Authors can found here.

Selected papers are planned to be invited to a special issue of the journal Theoretical Computer Science.
Program Committee: Dimitris Achlioptas, UCSC James Aspnes, Yale U. Nikhil Bansal, TU Eindhoven Thomas Erlebach, Leicester U. Guy Even, Tel-Aviv U. (co-chair) Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik U. (co-chair) Fabian Kuhn, USI Stefano Leonardi, Sapienza U. Toshimitsu Masuzawa, Osaka U. Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, U. Paderborn Sriram V. Pemmaraju, U Iowa Harald Raecke, TU Munich Ignasi Sau, LIRMM Thomas Sauerwald, MPI Informatik Christian Schindelhauer, U. Freiburg Hadas Shachnai, Technion Christian Sohler, TU Dortmund Subhash Suri, UCSB Philippas Tsigas, Chalmers University of Technology Shmuel Zaks, Technion Steering Committee: Ralf Klasing,CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France Shay Kutten, Technion, Israel (Chair) Boaz Patt-Shamir, Tel-Aviv University, Israel Alex Shvartsman, MIT and Univ. of Connecticut, USA Masafumi Yamashita, Kyushu University, Japan Local Arrangement Chair Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik U., Iceland Publicity Chair Yvonne Anne Pignolet, ABB Corporate Research