Criteria for the Roger McDonough Librarianship Award

Please complete or prepare facsimile with same information and return by August 1.

Nomination Form

This award is named for Roger H. McDonough, New Jersey State Librarian from 1947 to 1975. Beginning in 2002 the New Jersey Studies Academic Alliance, together with the New Jersey Historical Commission, Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference-New Jersey Caucus, and the New Jersey Library Association History & Preservation Section, has given an award to a librarian, archivist, or manuscript curator for excellence in service to the New Jersey history research community and/or the general public.

Nominees for the award should meet the following criteria: 1. Served for ten years or more as a librarian, archivist, or manuscripts curator in a New Jersey institution. The nominee could be active or retired from service. 2. Demonstrated a high level of public service to the New Jersey Studies research community and/or general public.

To nominate a candidate, return this form, stating why he/she is deserving of this award, and citing significant accomplishments (particular or general) in public service to the New Jersey community, with a career history. You may also submit a resume of the nominee.

Previous winners include Laura Poll, Robert Lupp, Elsalyn Palmisano, Charles Cummings, Joseph Felcone, Karl Niederer, Lois Densky-Wolff, Joseph Klett, David Mitros, Susan Gulick, Bonita Craft Grant, Joseph DaRold, Bette Epstein, Janet T. Riemer, Ronald L. Becker, Gary D. Saretzky, Thomas J. Frusciano, and Ellen Callahan.

The award will be selected by a committee consisting of Tara Maharjan, Maxine Lurie, Elsalyn Palmisano, and Gary D. Saretzky. Members of the committee and previous winners are not eligible to receive the award.

Nominations should be sent to Gary D. Saretzky via email to by August 1. The award will be presented in the Fall at a place and time to be determined. The award includes a certificate of recognition.