Nebraska Golden Sower

We are excited to start reading the 2023-2024 Nominees. Voting is open November 1, 2023 through April 15, 2024. See the voting page for information on how to submit votes for this year's award. 

The nominee levels have new names! The Little Bluestem (picture book) category is primarily intended for grades K-2; Honeybee category (chapter books) for grades 3-5; and Meadowlark (novel category) for grades 6-8. In 2025-2026, we will be introducing a category intended for high school students. However, it is up to local adults to decide which books to use and how. As long as a student has read four (4) books in a category, they are eligible to vote in that category.

Little Bluestem (Picture Book) Nominees 

Covers of the 10 picture book nominees listed below.

2023-2024 Picture Book Nominees

Bathe the Cat by Alice B. McGinty, illustrated by David Roberts

Bear is a Bear by Jonathan Stutzman, illustrated by Dan Santat

Chester Van Chime Who Forgot How to Rhyme by Avery Monsen, illustrated by Abby Hanlon

Chez Bob by Bob Shea, illustrated by the author

Knight Owl by Christopher Denise, illustrated by the author

Milo Imagines the World by Matt de la Peña, illustrated by Christian Robinson

Norman Didn't Do It!: (Yes, He Did) by Ryan T. Higgins, illustrated by the author

Not Yeti by Kelly DiPucchio, illustrated by Claire Keane, illustrated by the author

Something's Wrong!: A Bear, A Hare, and Some Underwear by Jory John, illustrated by Erin Kraan

Time for Bed, Old House by Janet Costa Bates, illustrated by A.G. Ford

Click here for a printable Primary Nominees list.

Click here for a complete printable list.

Honeybee (Chapter Book) Nominees 

Covers of the 10 chapter book nominees listed below.

2023-2024 Chapter Book Nominees

Across the Desert by Dusti Bowling

A Duet for Home by Karina Yan Glaser

Imaginary by Lee Bacon, illustrated by Katy Wu

One Small Hop by Madelyn Rosenberg

A Place to Hang the Moon by Kate Albus

Rez Dogs by Joseph Bruchac

Six Feet Below Zero by Ena Jones

Time Villains by Victor Piñeiro

What Comes Next by Rob Buyea

Willodeen by Katherine Applegate

Click here for a printable Chapter Book Nominee list.

Click here for a complete printable list.

Meadowlark (Novel) Nominees 

Covers of the 10 novels nominees listed below.

2023-2024 Novel Nominees

Alone by Megan E. Freeman

Amari and the Night Brothers by B. B. Alston

Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan

Fallout: Spies, Superbombs, and the Ultimate Cold War Showdown by Steve Sheinkin

Paradise on Fire by Jewell Parker Rhodes

The Shape of Thunder by Jasmine Warga

Starfish by Lisa Fipps

Ten Thousand Tries by Amy Makechnie

Too Bright to See by Kyle Lukoff

Year of the Reaper by Makiia Lucier

Click here for a printable Novel Nominee list.

Click here for a complete printable list.