Nebraska's Children's Choice Literary Award

Congratulations to the winners of the 2021-2022 Golden Sower Awards!

Thank you to the children across the state who read these fantastic books and cast almost 65,000 votes! Thank you also to all of the teachers, school and public librarians, and parents who promoted reading these quality books.

Winner: If I Could Build a School by Chris Van Dusen

Honor Book: Dandy by Ame Dyckman

Honor Book: Nobody Hugs a Cactus by Carter Goodrich

Winner: Wildfire by Rodman Philbrick

Honor Book: When Stars are Scattered by Victoria Jameison and Omar Mohamed

Honor Book: Spark by Sarah Beth Durs

Winner: Run, Hide, Fight Back by April Henry

Honor Book: Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang

Honor Book: The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise by Dan Geimenheart

At the end of August 2022, the Nebraska Library Association's long-standing legal rights to the Golden Sower Award were officially retained. The NLA Board is excited to more forward and reaffirm a commitment to diversity, intellectual freedom, personal choice, and inclusivity in children’s literature. For further details, see this statement from NLA.