To successfully move to the new google environment, we need to bring your Google Drive files. We do this with Shared Drives, which you can visualize as moving boxes. We have to pack the boxes, and when we move to the new environment, they will come with us.
The benefit of this migration method is that the files in Shared Drive will retain their version history, URL, comments, and sharing permissions.
The team will access central Drives for Projects, Design, Contracts, etc.
We encourage everyone to move anything from their My Drive into these Shared Drives if it relates to the team for easier collaborations.
For all other personal files that are yours, there are two options.
You can keep them in your My Drive.
They will be duplicated to your My Drive in the new Google Workspace. You will get a copy of the original file but this file will have a new link (File ID) and will lose all sharings, comments and version history.
Move the files to a personal Shared Drive that will be created for each employee. (preferred)
If you have files that need the same link, sharing, comments, and version history, please move them to the designated personal Shared Drive so they can be retained as originals once the migration has been performed.
You can move files and folders in the same way.
Open your Google Drive in the section called My Drive
Find the file or folder you want to move.
Right-click on it and select Move; this will prompt a new window for you.
In this new window you will find an arrow on the upper left corner, use the arrow to navigate and locate the Shared Drive that will be the new destination for the selected file or folder.
The Share Drive will have an arrow on the right side, use the arrow to navigate and find the one you wish to use.
Once located the Shared Drive , click on the name and Click on Move, on the lower right corner.