National School Library Standards

The new National School Library Standards were released at the AASL National Conference in November of 2017. These new standards include standards for learners, school librarians, and school libraries. The purpose of this site is to simplify and organize information for school librarians in Millard Public Schools.

Click on the logo to the right to access the AASL School Library Standards Website.

Standards Structure video

Standards Framework Pamphlet

All information is from:

National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries. ALA Editions, an Imprint of the American Library Association, 2018.

Link to the 2018 Fall Workshop Presentation on National School Library Standards

AASL Common Beliefs- Core Beliefs of the Profession

  1. The school library is a unique and essential part of a learning community.
  2. Qualified school librarians lead effective school libraries.
  3. Learners should be prepared for college, career and life.
  4. Reading is the core of personal and academic competency.
  5. Intellectual freedom is every learner's right.
  6. Information technologies must be appropriately integrated and equitably available.

5 Components of the National Standards

  1. Shared Foundations- 6 overarching actions or core values.
  2. Key Competencies- deeper explanation of the meaning of the Shared Foundation topics
  3. Domains- learning categories within each of the Foundations
  4. Competencies- what the learners must to to show mastery
  5. Alignments- the link between the learner and the school library

Link to the Standards Framework for Learners. There is also a component for School Librarians and the School Library.

6 Shared Foundations and Key Competencies-

  1. Inquire- ask questions, gather information, reflect on information, and use it to make decisions
    • Key Competency: Build new knowledge by inquiring, thinking critically, identifying problems, and developing strategies for solving problems.
  2. Include- welcome members of the community with diverse background and life experiences, include these perspectives in their own understanding
    • Key Competency: Demonstrate an understanding of and commitment to inclusiveness and respect for diversity in the learning community.
  3. Collaborate- work together to solve a common problem or achieve a goal
    • Key Competency: Work effectively with others to broaden perspectives and work toward common goals.
  4. Curate- collect, organize, and share resources to make meaning
    • Key Competency: Make meaning for oneself and others by collecting, organizing, and sharing resources of personal relevance.
  5. Explore- look at current and gathered knowledge and build new and broader understanding of topics, personal growth mindset
    • Key Competency: Discover and innovate in a growth mindset developed through experience and reflection.
  6. Engage- personalize learning, learner agency for growth
    • Key Competency: Demonstrate safe, legal, and ethical creating and sharing of knowledge products independently while engaging in a community of practice and an interconnected world.

4 Domains

  1. Think- Ask, gather and gain knowledge (cognitive domain)
  2. Create- Conclude, decide, apply, create (psychomotor domain)
  3. Share- "Show you know" and be a productive member of democratic society (affective domain)
  4. Grow- Achieve personal, academic, and professional goals (developmental domain)

Competency vs. Outcome

Competency- Knowledge, skill, or disposition of the learner

Outcome- What the learner will be able to do