Board of Trustees

Every state school and state-integrated school in New Zealand has a board of trustees (BoT). Our BOT is currently made up of nine members who are responsible for our governance.

In June 2016 we elected a new board. The new board includes:

  • The two Leaders of Learning as the board's chief executive, professional advisor and educational leader
  • Five parent elected representatives from the community
  • An elected staff representative from both schools
  • An elected student representative for a 1 year term
  • Co-opted trustees (optional)

Board Chairperson

Meredith Tourell, Board

Hobsonville Point Secondary School, PO Box 84211, Westgate 0618, Auckland

PH: 09-9757411

Parent Representatives and Board Members

Sharyn Afu

Graeme Aitken

Sandra Atkins

Marcus Hogan


Maurie Abraham

Daniel Birch

Staff Representative

Lisa Squire

Student Representative

Bill Savery

Board Secretary


The Board of Trustees Role

Boards of trustees are accountable to parents and caregivers, their local communities, the Minister of Education, other government agencies and the public, for their actions and performance.

The board is the employer of all the school’s staff and is responsible for:

  • setting the school’s strategic and policy direction in consultation with parents, staff and learners
  • ensuring that the school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its learners
  • overseeing the management of curriculum, staff, property, finance and administration
  • consistently monitoring and reviewing progress against targets to inform future planning.

The board must have a charter, which sets out long-term goals and annual targets determining the school’s priorities. The board must monitor and report annually to its community and the Ministry of Education on progress towards those goals and targets.