Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS)


MTSS is an evidence-based instructional framework comprised of practices and interventions aimed at supporting the needs of all students. This holistic approach addresses academic, behavioral, and social emotional needs through the approaches of Response to Intervention (RTI), Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), and school mental health.

The MTSS framework addresses student needs at three tiers, each including instructional strategies and interventions. This framework encourages schools to provide early intervention to assist in preventing or addressing academic, social-emotional, and/or behavioral difficulties early. Through problem-solving conversations and multiple sources of data, school-based teams can identify supports needed for student success.

School City of Hammond is committed to empowering all students to make meaningful contributions to the world. To promote the success of all students, SCH implements a Multi-Tiered System of Support(s) (MTSS) framework.


The mission of a Multi-Tiered System of Supports, or MTSS, is to create an integrated system of academic, behavioral, and social emotional supports for all students. Through empowering and collaborative connections between families, schools, and community resources, students will experience engaging, affirming, equitable, and supportive learning that encourages academic and social growth through the consistent delivery of explicit and systematic instruction.


The vision of MTSS is to provide all students with high quality core, equitable instruction and evidence-based interventions to support their learning needs.

Three Tiers of Instruction & Intervention through MTSS

Tier 1

Tier 1 (Primary): Tier 1 is often known as Universal Prevention Strategies or the Core. At Tier 1, efforts are focused on preventing the development of new incidents/ occurrences through the implementation of high quality learning environments for all students and staff and across all settings (i.e., school-wide, classroom, and non-classroom). Universal screenings identify students who are not achieving as expected and require additional support within the core curriculum.

Tier 2

Tier 2 (Secondary): Tier 2 is often known as Targeted Interventions. At Tier 2, efforts are focused on reducing the frequency and intensity of academic, behavioral and/or social emotional needs for students who are not responsive to primary intervention practices by providing more focused, targeted, and frequent small group-oriented responses. Progress is monitored frequently using multiple assessments (e.g., behavioral data, benchmark assessments, etc).

Tier 3

Tier 3 (Tertiary): Tier 3 is often known as Intensive Interventions. At Tier 3, efforts are focused on reducing the intensity, frequency, and/or complexity of existing academic, behavioral and/or social emotional needs that are resistant to and/or unlikely to be addressed by primary and secondary prevention efforts by providing individualized responses. Progress is monitored even more frequently than in Tier 2 to determine the impact of the intervention on the student‘s learning.