HAAS offers after a Driver's Education after-school course for non-credit. It is open to all citizens with a valid Hawaii Instructional Permit who are at least 15 years and 6 months of age and under 19 years of age, in accordance with Hawaii Revised Statutes. The course is taught by DOT and DOE licensed instructors. There are 2 parts to the Driver's Education after-school, non-credit course; Classroom and Behind-The-Wheel (BTW). Students who enroll in the course are required to take both the Classroom and BTW. Student enrollment in the DE Course at each high school must be given on an equal basis to all eligible persons.
- Class Size:
We are required to have 15 students to start a course.
- Course Calendar:
There are 18 class sessions (total of 38 hrs) that are usually completed within 6 weeks, and 7 drives per student, in groups of 2 or 3, completed within 6 weeks.
All classes are usually scheduled after school from 2:30 - 4:30 PM. We may have some weekend classes. All dates will be provided at the parent night.
Driving will occur after all class sessions are complete and will be from 2:30 pm until either 4:30 pm or 5:30 pm, depending on the group size. Again, we may have some weekend drives. Schedules will be discussed at the parent night and will be worked on during the class sessions (between the groups and the instructors.