FNESU Early Education Program

FNESU's Early Education Program has opened registration for the 2024/2025 school year in our school-based classrooms  (Bakersfield, Berkshire, Enosburg, Richford, Sheldon, Montgomery).  Please contact the school in your town of residence to get further information.  If there are more applications than spots, a lottery will determine placement in the program for those on the wait list.  Families on the wait list will be notified by June 15th, 2024 about the results of the application.  

**If your child currently attends preschool in one of our school-based classrooms, you do not need to reapply.**

Any requests for programming out of your town of residence will be automatically wait listed until August 2024.

Our Mission

The Early Childhood Program of Franklin North East Supervisory Union is dedicated to providing a safe and inclusive early learning environment that fosters growth across all developmental domains to include cognition, social-emotional, physical (fine and gross motor), adaptive (self-help), and communication. Through high-quality social experiences, children engage in learning opportunities that create a sense of belonging and connection, along with gaining exposure to foundational literacy, mathematical, and inquiry skills.

 Statement of Inclusion:  FNESU shares the position of the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC): Early childhood inclusion embodies the values, policies, and practices to support the rights of every infant, toddler, young child, and their family, regardless of ability. An inclusive experience for all children, and their families, includes a sense of belonging and membership, positive social relationships and friendships, and developmentally appropriate learning to reach their full potential.

Statement of Equity:  FNESU's Early Education Program is dedicated to providing all children equitable learning opportunities.  To ensure this, we support children in the development of the following, as identified by NAEYC: 


About the FNESU Early Education Program

Franklin Northeast Supervisory Union houses 9 preschool classrooms across 6 schools: Richford, Montgomery, Enosburg, Berkshire, Sheldon, and Bakersfield elementary schools. 

We utilize funds from Act 166 and also partner with other Act 166 pre-qualified preschool programs.  

FNESU preschool programs follow the FNESU school year calendar. A copy of the calendar is provided and includes school closings for holidays, recess, and in-service. Snow days will be posted on Vermont Public Broadcasting systems.