Differentiating in Assessment

How do we assess which is the A grade show pony?


In most Frameworks, there are separate Achievement Standards for year eleven and twelve, as well as for A/T/M.

More is expected of year twelve due to the academic experience and skills that comes from one year of senior secondary studies. Year twelve students have a much clearer expectation of standards, effort required and college processes than year eleven, and have one year more of general education in terms of knowledge, analytical capacity and academic skill, and are therefore advantaged over year eleven. As such, the higher expectations of the year twelve Achievement Standards are justified regardless of their specific knowledge of a discipline.

Previously, more was expected of year twelve students, but that expectations was not always transparent to students.

What are Achievement Standards

Achievement Standards are based on the key knowledge, understanding and skills of a learning area. They are developed to describe the quality of the outcomes that are evident in student work in relation to this learning.

The Achievement Standards reflect equivalence of achievement across subjects. They are the means for providing equity, as there are the same expectations of student performance, regardless of the learning area or the details of the task.

The grade bands are differentiated using Blooms Taxonomy and the scope of the learning demonstrated in the piece of work.

Achievement Standards are based on ACARA design specifications.

Achievement Standards are not a rubric in themselves for assessing individual tasks. Rubrics are developed from the Achievement Standards, selecting those outcomes relevant and suitable for the intended task. All the Achievement Standards should be covered over the suite of tasks for a unit of work.

Achievement Standards describe grade bands, not scores. There is no fixed relationship between marks and grades. Internal moderation between classes may change raw scores. Further, the grades describe a standard, not a place on the curve.

Attention to the level of achievement described in the Achievement Standards avoids 'grade inflation' a tendency over time to award more A’s and B’s and fewer low grades – which can be the result of using grades to reward effort rather than achievement. For example, a teacher may believe that students who conscientiously complete most class work deserve something better than a ‘C’.

How did the judges decide?

King the Wire Fox is the king of the 2019 Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show after winning Best in Show, GETTY IMAGES

The Differences between years Eleven and Twelve Achievement Standards

A. What are the differences in expectation between year eleven and year twelve in Science courses?

Science T Year Eleven

Science T year Twelve

B. What are the differences in expectation between year eleven and year twelve in HASS courses?

HASS T Year Eleven

HASS T Year Twelve

C. What are the differences in expectation between year eleven and year twelve in Industry and Services courses?

Industry and Services A Year Eleven

Industry and Services A Year Twelve