South Street School

Mrs. Carmen Vargas-Guevara


129 South St, Danbury, CT 06810

Phone: (203) 797-4789 Attendance: (203) 790-2867

Fax: (203) 830-6587

Quick Links

School Hours

Regular Day: 8:55-3:25

One Hour Early Release: 8:55-2:25

Planned Early Dismissal: 8:55-1:25

Emergency Early Dismissal: 8:55-12:25

Two Hour Delay: 10:55-3:25

Our doors open at 8:30, students must be in class by 8:55.

Contact our secretary, Mrs. Pereira!

(203) 797-4789

Literacy Night Flyer.pdf
  • Award winning storyteller Len Cabral will be performing at South Street School on April 26th! Visit to find out more.

Important Dates

  • Tuesday, March 27 - Early Release 2:30pm
  • Thursday, March 29 - Report Cards go home
  • Friday, March 30 - Good Friday; No School.
  • Thursday, April 5 - 2nd Grade Poetry Cafe 5:30pm
  • Friday, April 6 - 4th Grade Poetry Slam 2pm
  • Tuesday, April 10- Early Release 2:30pm
  • Wednesday, April 11- 3rd Grade Danbury Slideshow
  • Thursday, April 12 - 2nd Grade Upstander Presentation 9:30am; 1st Grade Safe Touch/Unsafe Touch Presentation 10:30am; Kindergarten Care & Kindness Presentation 1:30pm
  • Friday, April 13 - Boundaries & Our Bodies Presentations - Battaglia 9:15, 10:15, & 11:30am. Healthy Friendships & Conflict Presentations - Buzaid 10:30am, Bonacci 11:30am, Wendel 1:45pm.
  • Monday, April 16 - Friday, April 20 - Spring Recess, No School
  • Tuesday, April 24 - Early Release 2:30pm
  • Thursday, April 26 - Len Cabral Storytelling Assembly: K-2 9:10, 3-5 10:10 in Gym

PTO Announcements

Support South Street School with our Mixed Bag Fundraiser!

Mixed Bag - South Street School


The next PTO meeting will be Tuesday, April 3rd at 6:00pm.


  • DHS Productions is proud to present DISNEY’S HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL on Thursday, March 22 @ 7pm; Friday, March 23 @ 7:30pm and Saturday, March 24 at 1pm AND 7:30pm.

DISNEY'S HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL is fun for the entire family. Based on the Disney Channel's hit movie, you'll get to see Troy, Gabriella and the students of East High deal with a variety of issues involving first love, friends and family while balancing their classes and extracurricular activities. This high-energy show will have you wanting to join our cast on stage!

Tickets are on sale now in the Main Lobby of DHS from 10am - 3pm daily and will be sold at the door (30 minutes before show time) if available. Student tickets are $10 and adult tickets are $12, payable by cash or check (to DHS Productions).

*Please note, there are no refunds or exchanges.

Check out our new sticker machine! Students, staff, and parents can purchase stickers - 50¢ each.

Simple directions from I-84E and I-84W:

Turn right onto Main St/CT-53 S.

Turn left onto South St/CT-53.

129 SOUTH STREET is on the left.

Disclaimer: The South Street School webmaster seeks to ensure that all content and information published at this website is current and accurate. In addition, the webmaster cannot be held responsible for the contents of any externally linked pages or individual teacher sites.

Updated: March 5, 2018