The Eastern Visayas region is a diamond in the rough. Sure, you won’t find luxe hotels or glitzy party scenes around here. But you will find raw natural attractions that speak for themselves, waiting to be discovered.

        The region consists of the provinces of Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar and Southern Leyte and the cities of Baybay, Borongan, Calbayog, Catbalogan, Maasin, Ormoc and Tacloban. Tacloban City is its regional center. The local climate varies between wet and wetter — the region’s perpetually lush landscapes reveal the absence of a real dry season.

        Majority of the locals here are Waray and speak Waray-Waray. Warays are descendants of Austronesian migrants who settled in the Philippines in the Iron Age. In 1521, they became the first Filipinos encountered by Europeans, care of Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan. They subsequently became one of the first local groups to convert to Christianity. Notable Warays include Former First Lady Imelda Marcos and statesman Norberto Romuáldez.

    Eastern Visayas is one of the regions of the Philippines and is designated as Region VIII.

    These provinces occupy the easternmost islands of Visayas: Leyte, Samar and Biliran.

    Tacloban City, one of two cities of Leyte. Calbayog City is the lone city in Samar, one of the oldest in the country. The main languages spoken are Cebuano and Waray-Waray (speakers of these languages also call their languages "Visayan").

    A third language known as Inabaknon is spoken in the island of Capul in Northern Samar.

Some claim the existence of another speech variety known as Sagul spoken on the Island of Biliran and is in actuality a mix of both Cebuano and Waray. However, others claim that 'Sagul' is just codeswitching rather than a separate language. The word 'sagul' means mixed in the Waray-Waray language and may simply refer to the practice of mixing up both Waray-Waray and Cebuano which are spoken in Biliran.