Previous Award Winners

Congratulations to

SDCUE's Spring 2015 Mini Grant Award Winners:

More info and project descriptions.

“Probes make chemistry come alive!”

Joshua Hill

Mar Vista High School

Sweetwater Union High School District

“Minecraft Educator”

Danny Manalo


Poway Unified School District

“Video Resume Studio”

Matt Norris

West Hills High School

Grossmont Union High School District

“Flight School” Thomas Nusser Innovation Middle School San Diego City Schools

“Robots and Grit”

Shelly Moses

San Diego Jewish Academy

Congratulations to Kathy Hayden,

CUE's 2015 TILL Award Recipient!

Congratulations to longtime San Diego CUE member, Kathy Hayden, who was nominated by SDCUE, and was awarded the Technology in Learning Leadership Award (TILL) (past recipients) at the Annual CUE Conference in Palm Springs.

The SDCUE Innovative Educator for 2015 award goes to

Scott Moss from Innovation Middle School.

Scott believes that “Technology empowers and emboldens students to personalize their learning and the ways that they can demonstrate what they know. Further, the collaborative nature of Web 2.0 technologies and personal learning networks further empowers students to learn in way that were literally unimaginable when I began teaching. My passion for teaching students to create their own programs throughcoding illustrates my belief in students’ potential to achieve whatever goals they desire.”

See Scott’s passion for learning:

Honorable mentions go to Ascension Reyes, De Anza Magnet School and Stephanie Ibrahim, Jamacha Elementary School.

The SDCUE Innovative Educator for 2014 award goes to

Matt Baier from Cathedral Catholic High School for his work with iPads and iTunes U.

Matt believes the goal of educators should be "to use technology to teach students to become intellectually curious and skilled lifeling learners." Check out his SDCUE Innovative Educator application videoto learn more about what makes him an Innovative Educator.

Throughout her career, as teacher, professor, President of SDCUE, President of CUE, ISTE Board Member, author, consultant, grant writer, and evaluator, Dr. Katherine Hayden has distinguished herself as a leader and advocate for effective use of technology for teaching, learning, and research.

The SDCUE Innovative Educator for 2013 award goes to Jen Roberts,

a high school English teacher at Point Loma High School. Roberts stated, "While other teachers are working to integrate technology into their curriculum, I can’t deliver my curriculum without technology." It's this passion and commitment to her students, and to learning in the digital age, that makes her a well-deserved candidate of this honor. Roberts shares her passion for high quality education by assisting and inspiring other teachers through presenting at professional conferences including, The National Council of Teachers of English annual convention (NCTE), Computer Using-Educators (CUE), San Diego Computer-Using Educators (SDCUE), California League of Schools (CLS), and The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). She also blogs about teaching and technology at

In December 2015, the Board of San Diego CUE nominated Kim Buhler forCUE’s Outstanding Teacher of the Year. Kim is a fourth grade teacher at L. R. Green Elementary School. She has been teaching for over 25 years and has never allowed being a veteran teacher be an excuse for not continuing to hone her craft and add to the tools in her teacher toolbox. She believes that the integration of technology not only can motivate students, but provide them the transformative environment. Kim prepares her students with projects for iREAD, Project LIVE, iVIE, EYMF, and California Student Media Festival. She has taken groups of students to CUE for many years to present at the CUE Student Technology Showcase. She prepares her students as presenters, empowering them while affecting a broad range of educators. Kim even raises money to be able to send other teachers to SDCUE’s Tech Fair when their school cannot pay!

In November, at the SDCUE 2014 Tech Fair, SDCUE honored longtime SDCUE member and EdTech Supporter, Bill Simpson, who passed away in August. His wife Debbie accepted the Award on his behalf.

Bill is a former CUE Technology in Learning Leadership Award (TILL) (past recipients) winner and ISTE's Outstanding Leader Award. Bill is also know as the co-creator of the innovative iVIE Awards.

CUE National Awards

These awards are nominated by CUE's affiliates or Learning Networks and awarded at the annual CUE Conference. The following are awards given to San Diego CUE Members:


Al Rogers, 1986

June Dodge 1986

Al Rogers 1987

Daryl Stermon 1991

Bernie Dodge 1991

Dennis Cowick 1992

Pam Howard 2003

George Munoz 2004

Roger Wagner 2010

Brad Pascoe 2014


Al Rogers 1991

Daryl Stermon 1995

Bernie Dodge 1997

June Dodge 2013

Cynthia Sistek-Chandler 2014


Terri Price 2005


Clifford Smith 2013


Roger Wagner 1997

Bill Simpson 2004

Harry Bloom 2011

Katherine Hayden 2015