The West Washington County Community Unit School District No. 10 was formed in 1974. District 10 provides schooling for children in Kindergarten through 12th grade. The District is located in the western-most part of Washington County. It covers 178 square miles and includes the incorporated villages of Addieville, Okawville, Venedy, and many unincorporated villages. The District is governed by a seven-member elected Board of Education. No more than three members may serve from any single congressional township. Elections occur in April of odd numbered years. Regular meetings of the Board of Education are held on the third Thursday of each month in the Unit Office conference room of Okawville Jr./Sr. High School, 400 South Hanover Street, Okawville, Illinois, at 7:30P.M. (8:00 on DST)



West Washington CCUD #10 schools are supported by:

 Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) at Okawville Grade School and Okawville Jr. High,

OHS Sports Boosters,

OHS Music Patrons at Okawville High School,

and FFA Alumni.

The schools are also supported by numerous volunteers.


Given the square mile size of the District, school bus transportation for students is extensive. It is not uncommon for student to ride 30-45 minutes one-way on a school bus to their school each day. As required under the State law, all students who live 1.5 miles from their school, or whose route is obstructed by hazardous circumstances according to Illinois Department of Transportation criteria, are bused to school. Given the location of the high school, it is common for junior and senior students to drive to school.


District 10 is affiliated with the:  Illinois Association of School Boards,   Illinois High School Association, Illinois Junior High School Association, Kaskaskia Special Education District #801, Clinton, Marion and Washington Counties Drug Cooperative, Regional Delivery System, and  Regional Office of Education #13.