Wayne County INGenWeb

Proud to be a part of the INGenWeb and USGenWeb projects!


The Wayne County INGenWeb Project was established for the goal of sharing genealogical and historical information to benefit all who have ancestors that live or have passed through this county. There are many volunteers and contributors who have donated much of the worthwhile information that is available on this web site. I would like to thank all of the previous county coordinators for their contributions to the Wayne County INGenWeb Project! And, I would like to continue with the primary purpose of providing worthwhile genealogical and historical data for all who are interested in this county.

Wayne County Townships

Wayne County is divided into 15 townships, and they are: Abington, Boston, Center, Clay, Dalton, Franklin, Green, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, New Garden, Perry, Washington, Wayne and Webster

INGenWeb's History

In March or April of 1996, a group of genealogists organized the Indiana Comprehensive Genealogy Database. The idea was to provide a single entry point for all counties in Indiana, where collected databases would be stored. In addition, the databases would be indexed and cross-linked, so that even if an individual were found in more than one county, they would be located in the index. At the same time, volunteers were found who were willing to coordinate the collection of databases and generally oversee the contents of the web page.

County Coordinator: David Sloan

State Coordinator: Lena Harper

Assistant State Coordinator: Jim Cox

Assistant State Coordinator: Karen Zach

Becoming an INGenWeb Volunteer

Adjoining Counties:

Randolph County | Darke County, Ohio

Preble County, Ohio | Union County

Fayette County | Henry County