Susan P. Bloom Children's Book Discovery Award

Congratulations to our 2019 Winners!

Anthony Lathrop, Captain Mavrik Takes A Holiday

Rebekah Lowell, The Road to After

Krista Surprenant, Remember Where You're From

Please join us for the award celebration where winners will present a brief selection of their work, followed by a reception. The celebration takes place on May 19, 2019, at 5 p.m. 5th floor School of Management Building, Simmons University.

RSVP to by May 15, 2019

Discounted parking is available.

Past Winners:

Many Discovery Award winners are now published writers, including: Mackenzie Van Engelenhoven,Katie Bayerl, Rebecca Roan, Kristy Acevedo, Lisa Rogers, Adrienne Kisner, Kip Wilson, Jeanne Zulick Ferrulo, Michelle A. Cusolito, M.P. Barker, Annie Cardi, Heather Demetrios, Erin Dionne, Johanna Knowles, Ammi-Joan Paquette, Sara Pinto, Jame Richards, Anna Staniszewski, Tara Sullivan, Kim Ablon Whitney, and Janet Ruth Young.


Orrin Hannratty, Shadowtide: An American Monster Story

Cassie Gustafson, Finding Erica Strange

Jane Hawksworth, Anna Wynne

Laura Quinlan, Alone Against the Wind


Abi Cushman, Snow Day for Goat and Badger

Laurie Warchol, Dragonfly: Waiting for Wings

Kip Wilson, White Rose


Adrienne Kisner, Dear Rachel Maddow

Sera Rivers, The Wicked Ones

Jeanne Zulick Ferruolo, Ruby in the Sky

Lisa Rogers, Mr. Marshall’s Red Wheelbarrow

Michelle A. Cusolito, Flying Deep


Kristy Acevedo, Consider

Alice Caldwell, Sly as a Sheep

Sheryl DePaolo, The Child Star


Rebecca Roan, Dragons Get Colds Too

Pamela Sonn, Jedediah Buxton, The Human Calculator

Mackenzie Van Engelenhoven, The Shadow Boys are Breaking


Anna Boll, Control. Crush.

Katherine Quimby, Three Minutes Thirty


Heather Demetrios, Streaming

Amitha Knight, Landwalker


Annie Cardi, Queen of the Air

Tara Sullivan, Golden Boy


Bette Anne Rieth, Greetings From the Miracle

Linda Zajac, Ice Birds in a Warming Land

Heather Jessen, I Won a Robot in a Raffle


Maria Gianferrera, Terrific Tongues

Anna Staniszewski, The Tinkerers

J. James Keels, Starving Hysterical Naked

Shelagh Smith, A Mouthful of Straw


Tamara Ellis Smith, A Marble Looks Like Home

Colleen Ellis, The Alphabet Looking Beyond the Letter

Tracy Miller Geary, The Summer of My Movie Star

Jame Richards, Three Rivers Rising


Joanne Perkins, Ice Harvest

Cindy Faughnan, Sheldon

Joe Anastasio, The Mist

Katie Bayerl, Smart Girl


Erin Dionne, Beauty Binge

J.C. Phillips for her Illustrations

Hollis Shore, The Curve of the World

Phoebe Sinclair, The Truth About Liaa


Johanna Knowles, Lessons From a Dead Girl

Ammi-Joan Paquette, China Blue

Tara Nickerson, Letting Go

Mike Arena, The Man Who Jumped From Space

Call for Submissions 2019

New Deadline March 1

Each year the Children’s Book Committee honors emerging writers and writer/illustrators with the Susan P. Bloom Children’s Book Discovery Awards. Winners present their work to the public at Discovery Evening (May 2019). Editors at major publishing houses will read the winning manuscripts. In past years, editors from Knopf, Candlewick, and Houghton Mifflin have read the winning submissions.


  • Entrants must be residents of New England; may not have published a book in any genre including adult fiction and nonfiction; and may not have a book under contract to be published.
  • Writers who have self-published are eligible, but the submitted work must be unpublished.
  • Entrants who have agents may submit; similarly, entries that are out on submission to agents or editors are allowed.
  • Writers who have edited books or done work-for-hire books are eligible.
  • One entry only per person in one of the following four categories: picture books, novels, poetry, and nonfiction. Previous winners of the contest are not eligible.

Submission Requirements

All work should be—in both format and quality—ready for consideration by a publisher. The Committee does not determine ahead of time the number of winners or the categories to be represented.

Writing Sample: Text should be approximately 10 pages in length, double-spaced, though picture books may be shorter. Please include a cover page with the title, your contact info, and the category for which you are submitting.

    • Picture Books: Send complete text. If you are a writer and not an illustrator, there is no need ot send along illustrations. Author/illustrators should include sample illustrations.
    • Middle grade or YA Novels: Send one or two chapters, and a one page synopsis.
    • Poetry: Send up to ten poems.
    • Nonfiction: Send one or two chapters, plus a brief outline or table of contents.

Synopsis: Please include a brief synopsis of the writing sample.

Biographical Statement about your experience and interest in the field.

Submit a single file with documents in this order: Writing Sample, Synopsis, and Biography.

Email Submissions to:

Children’s Book Committee: M.T. Anderson, Nandini Bajpai, Susan P. Bloom, Pat Lowery Collins, Erin Dionne, Debbi Michiko Florence, Susan Goodman,Brian Lies, Lisa Jahn-Clough, Liza Ketchum, Cathryn Mercier, and Kim Ablon Whitney.