APA Winners

The American Planning Association's New York Metro Chapter Journalism Award award "recognizes leadership in print, broadcast or web-based media that supports planning."

On October 30, 2015, Philip Mark Plotch was awarded this prestigious award for his in-depth research, hard hitting analysis and compelling look at the politics behind the new Tappan Zee Bridge. Below is the list of previous award winners:

2016 - Corey Kilgannon, New York Times

2015 - Philip Mark Plotch, Politics Across the Hudson

2014 – Andrew Revkin, Dot Earth blog for the Op-Ed section of The New York Times.

2013 - Beyond Zuccotti Park by Ronald Schiffman (Editor) and Rick Bell (Editor)

2012 - Michael Kimmelman, New York Times

2011 - Kenneth Jackson

2009 - CityLand

2008 – Charles V. Bagli, The New York Times

2007 – Field Notes from a Catastrophe: Man, Nature, and Climate Change, Elizabeth Kolbert

2006 – The Works: Anatomy of a City, Kate Ascher, author, and Alexander Isley, Illustrator

2005 - New York: The Photo Atlas

2004 - No award given

2003 - Orange County Time Herald Record - series on sprawl

2002 - Gotham Gazette

2001 - Tri-state Transportation Campaign, Mobilizing the Region

2000 - New York Newsday - Edward T. Rogowsky, MetroView

1999 - Dave Lutz, Neighborhood Open Space Coalition's electronic newsletter

1997 - Todd Bressi, Editor, Places: Forum for Design of the Public Realm

1995 - Robert A.M. Stern, The New York Series

1994 - Eugenie Birch and Peter Salins, Journal of the American Planning Association

1993 - Roberta Brandes Gratz, New York Newsday and author - Ron Britzke, editor of the Cornwall Local

1992 - David W. Dunlap, The New York Times and author

1991 - Doug Turetsky, former Editor, City Limits

1990 - Brendan Gill, New Yorker magazine and author

1989 - Paul Goldberger, The New York Times columnist and author